Edutainment – Bouteiller’s English Teaching in Hong Kong


A tiresome weekend
March 27, 2011, 8:07 pm
Filed under: * Poems & Songs - Music *, My Weekly Journal

Have you ever tried to study really hard for your tests or exams and the result is unexpectedly disappointing?

Have you ever tried to impress your parents by your glorious test or exam result and your parents don’t appreciate what you’ve got but only see how trivially the marks have been deducted on the same paper?

Have you ever tried to be a good student and your friends start to judge how you want to impress the teachers, make fun of you and finally stay away from you?

I’ve experienced them all when I was young.

In the beginning of this year, I was overly delighted when I received the news that I could come back to teach for 6 weeks. I couldn’t wait to begin last month. There were students being very nice to me and offered me such a warm ‘welcome back’. They had no idea how much I wanted to thank them for their supports. I was on the top of the world!

Thereafter, I have been trying my best to prepare meaningful and playful lessons for my students every day. Until last Friday, when I was going to wish my students a good weekend,

‘Then BANG
Right out of the blue
Something happens to you
To throw you off course
And then you

Breakdown
Yeah you breakdown’

Sorry for bringing up the ‘crazy’ story again, but this was absolutely not a happy way to start the weekend.

My plan was to prepare the lessons for my students next week to watch one of the best Walt Disney movie after their term tests this weekend. Maybe I’m not professional enough. To highlight the funny and meaningful dialogues, scenes and sequence, just to create the worksheets and write the lesson plans, I’ve watched the 96-minute movie countless times over and over…

My weekend is almost over now and just have to agree with the singer JEM – Life is Just A Ride. [Click here for the video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=23ago3NmsVQ&feature=related]

‘Truth, we don’t wanna hear
It’s too much to take
Don’t like to feel out of control
So we make our plans
Ten times a day
And when they don’t go
Our way we

Breakdown
Yeah we breakdown
Well don’t you breakdown
Listen to me
Because

It’s just a ride, it’s just a ride
No need to run, no need to hide
It’ll take you round and round
Sometimes you’re up
Sometimes you’re down
It’s just a ride, it’s just a ride
Don’t be scared
Don’t hide your eyes
It may feel so real inside
But don’t forget it’s just a ride

Life is like a ride of roller coaster. There are definitely ups and downs. What the importance is, when you get off the ride, you could really feel once ‘live’! You’ve tried the best of you with no regrets! Therefore, I’m trying my best to plan fruitful lessons for my students next week despite the awful ‘crazy’ Friday experience. I want my students to learn and earn the credits for their parents, themselves and for their unpredictable and wonderful future.

[Does this format look familiar? Can you adopt this in your upcoming speaking exam? ;-)]


7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

jus a ride! i remember this song. It was shown on Elect lol u taught us this song when i was F2: )

btw sorry that i haven’t backed to HTYC today as i needed to go to US council to apply for VISA. (
i m gona US next month for exchange yeah:-p) When i have time, i ll b backed again, looking forward to c u haha lol All the best!

Comment by Yoyo Kwok

Yo! So good to hear that you’re going to the US next month!! Where?? I’m so excited for you! (I want to go there for you too!! :-P)

Comment by Nikki Bouteiller

ya i m excited as well as i hvnt been to US before;-p btw i m going to Kentucky and Wisconsin next month. Hv u been to there before?

Comment by Yoyo Kwok

icic. I’ve been to Wisconsin b4 as ‘ve got some friends there. You’ll find there very spacious and peacefully! The transport journey could be long sometimes comparing to that in HK. Enjoy! The weather should be sunny most of the time! 😉 From when to when?

Comment by Nikki Bouteiller

from 7th to 16th of may..
i backed to htyc today but teacher said u were away.. u left htyc?: (
i reli wana say thank you cos u inspired me to change skol actualy..: )

Comment by Yoyo Kwok

O… I did? 😛 What did I say? 😛 (getting old la, suffering from memory lost :-P)

You can come to Discovery Bay to visit me sometimes. I’m always here, full time housewife now! 😛

Comment by Nikki Bouteiller

np u didnt say anythin in fact lol
but i luv ur teachin method n figurd out hk edu system is not so suitable for me lol
anyway thz milion: )
why u become a housewif again?lol if i hv time, i ll come n visit u surely!: )

Comment by Yoyo Kwok




Leave a Reply

