Edutainment – Bouteiller’s English Teaching in Hong Kong


I Know You Want Me (Calle Ocho) by Pitbull
May 13, 2010, 1:51 pm
Filed under: * Poems & Songs - Music *, My Weekly Journal

My body can’t help moving and shaking a bit whenever I hear the melody of this song! πŸ˜› One, two, three, four…

(I bumped into 2 girls from HTYC in Tsim Sha Tsui yesterday. They voiced out my name and I looked back. Then the escalator brought us apart. Who are they?! I really couldn’t tell……)


15 Comments so far
Leave a comment

loved.

Comment by katrina

Katrina! It has been a long time that we haven’t spoken to each other! How are you?! You like this song? πŸ˜€

Comment by Nikki Bouteiller

yes” i love the song πŸ™‚
i heard the song on my trip to oxford and can’t stop hearing it!

Comment by katrina

To Oxford? When? πŸ˜‰

Comment by Nikki Bouteiller

at the summer holiday wif daisy and joy~

sorry 4 reply too late as the problems on the Internet._.

Comment by katrina

Wow, was it a study tour? EF?

Comment by Nikki Bouteiller

bingo. we’ve joint the english tour of ef~ πŸ™‚

Comment by katrina

I’ve been a course leader for EF in 2 summers! πŸ˜› I went on one as a student when I was 16 too. πŸ˜›

Comment by Nikki Bouteiller

wow! I think it’s cool to be a course leader. Where have u been when u were the leader? Something I am very interesting at is, do u have to pay some fee when u as the leader, or u are recieving wages?!xd
Seems that this is a gd job. I am bothered by the question for quite a long time -,-!!

Comment by katrina

Perth, Australia and Los Angeles, USA;
They provide all the basic expenses needed eg accommodation, transport and entrance fee for tourist sites. Then on the top of this benefits, they still pay the course leader about US$20 per week. ( I don’t remember how much exactly.)
Yes, it’s fun to try out for a summer or two, but the income won’t be enough for living. We can just consider it as a free travel package. πŸ˜‰
You’re welcomed for more questions. πŸ™‚

Comment by Nikki Bouteiller

How great it is!!Although the income won’t be enough for living, I think the trip can gain lots of special experiences!v! I really admire ur life very much~ >o< seems that ur life are leisure and u can try a lot to broaden ur horizons. but the life in my f4 is busy!….and still messy/3\

Comment by katrina

Haha, in Cantonese, there is a saying, something like ‘I see other people good and others see us good’. Yes, I’ve gained a lot of experiences through traveling, home-staying in different foreign families, learning a lot of different European languages to enrich the experience when traveling… but my youth is spent on all these without developing certain professional career like lawyers or doctors comparing to all of my old school friends. Now they are all professionals in our society with high income while I’ve just lived a life full of these fun experiences which couldn’t afford me with as much salary as they earn. πŸ˜‰ After all these fun, possessing a good language skill, in English, can still get myself an English teaching job for my living with enough holiday to go on and keep on traveling. Therefore, I always emphasize to everyone, especially my students, studying English well is the most important. I have a younger student who always say ‘I don’t like English and I prefer Chinese. Now Chinese is more important.’ Unfortunately, English is still the international common language. Also, in Hong Kong, there are just too many people who can speak and write Chinese well. Therefore, if one can master English well, it’s such a treasure!

Teen and early twenty life could be really fun and free. After finding out what you want, go for it! Time really flies and we can’t live a life full of regrets!

Katrina, I’m sure that you can ive a wonderful life! Which subjects do you study this year? Do you know what you want to be when you grow up? πŸ˜‰

Comment by Nikki Bouteiller

Tell truthly, I am taking the same pt of ur student that said “don’t like English and I prefer Chinese.”
Certainly, I realize that Eng is an important language in the world. So the only thing I can do is trying my best to relearn my poooor grammar:( However, I’ll never give up easily.v.

In this year, I am studying Chinses History(I can handle chinese better than engXP),physics(physics let me physicks….gag hah=v= ) and economics as my elective. Maybe it’s hard to understand the type of the subjects. They are totally different. This is because of I would like to study the subject have no requirments on secondnary studys. I want to learn more which is really related to my interests. For my future, I have considered a lot. My parents told my that I may try to reach the university and working at my stepfather’s company….but as the [lady on the airplane/0\..poor eng lol] as my stepfather is woring at the Airport Macau(sth like that). To me, I’ve dreamed about that I can bu the lawyer….maybe. But the truth is cruel, I change my mind when I realized that the difficulties. The wants of lawyer contains lots of society factors like the wage or the future of career, than my interest. Actually, my dream job is to write some stories at home and enjoy my own life but it isn’t suitable to nowadays life.

Tons of hw makes me nerly die too. I start to doubt that is that really important to study at school. Besides, i’ve planned to study maybe at UK or Australia. But i dun want to waste my family’s money.:(
CONFUSING@_@

Comment by katrina

Sorry for my late reply Katrina!

Don’t worry too much. Only if you want to be any particular professionals like lawyers, doctors or accountants, you can study whatever you like as most other jobs weigh relevant work experience way way much more than what you study. However, language skills is crucial! Therefore, if you are good at languages, you can be a cabin crew (on the planes), teacher, office lady etc.

I think you should go for your dream to be a lawyer. If you are that professional when you grow up, very soon you will be able to earn enough for your living and buy your dream flat to write stories at home afterward! πŸ™‚

If you have the opportunity to study aboard, go for it too! You won’t have another time in your life you can do the same if the time has passed! When I was studying in America, I didn’t want to spend too much of my parents’ money and didn’t transfer my university credits to another better college. Therefore I graduated and came back without graduating from one of the top universities. Now that I see some friends have better qualification demanding for better jobs, all I can do now is to regret. Therefore, don’t worry the financial status about your family. I think they are able to handle your studies if they suggest that to you. All you need to do is to study well. Don’t make them pay for nothing. Then your parents will be very happy to have such a successful daughter. They would feel you worth so much for it! πŸ™‚

How’s your exams? They are all over, aren’t they? πŸ˜‰

Comment by Nikki Bouteiller

P.S. Can’t believe that I wrote so long!

Comment by katrina




Leave a Reply

