Edutainment – Bouteiller’s English Teaching in Hong Kong


Inglorious Basterds
September 4, 2009, 3:46 pm
Filed under: * Pop Culture - Film *

Led and written by the famous director Quentin Tarantino and Brad Pitt starred in this movie, ‘Inglorious Basterds’ is believed to be a must-watch film lately! (but I’m not sure if it falls in the right category of teenage students in Hong Kong… :-P) It doesn’t harm to check out the trailer though. Go for it!

What do you think about it?

(Note that the movie title ‘inglorious basterds‘ is spelled by ‘terd’ ending instead of the vulgar word by ‘tard’ ending. See the official movie website for more information: http://www.inglouriousbasterds-movie.com/)


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

A war film, furthermore comedy film huh? I want to say is ‘bastards’ a vulgar English? And is it suitable for teenagers? I think not…

Comment by jeff2A37

Yes, that’s the vulgar language. We shouldn’t use it.

The director has created a word ‘basterd’ which sounds like the vulgar word ‘bastard’. I think he did it on purpose. I was trying to clarify the movie title as there’re people confusing the word with the movie title and believe that the movie is called ‘Inglorious Bastards’ instead. See the guy who upload the trailer on Youtube has made the mistake already.

Comment by Nikki Bouteiller

oh! I think it will be very popular in Hong Kong. War is very dark and it will only bring sick, death and tears. I dont like it even there is any reason. I think it is very exciting! I really want to know the meaning of the symbol. Is it the key of the war? I will try to watch with my friends

Comment by jack jack 2D (11)

Yeah Jack Jack! In fact my husband told me that they spoke several different languages in this movie – English, French and German. When a movie involves more than one language, it must involve the different characteristics of their cultures. Therefore I’m quite interested in watching this movie for the different cultural explorations. šŸ™‚

Moreover, it’s a comedy movie. I suppose it’s fun about the jokes of different nationalities speaking and looking into different cultures. šŸ˜›

Thanks for leaving your comment! šŸ™‚

Cheers
Madame Bouteiller

Comment by Nikki Bouteiller




Leave a Reply

