Edutainment – Bouteiller’s English Teaching in Hong Kong


Overcoming Monday Syndrome

Who doesn’t suffer from Monday Syndrome? I’ve been suffering from it terribly today already. Therefore, I ‘googled’ the solution earlier. Let me share what I’ve found from you. It is cited from http://psycho-blog.hayatkisa.com/overcoming-monday-syndrome.html

Check this out:

The stickyard to solve and get out of your Monday syndrome is to realize that the problem isn’t Monday. Monday, like every other day of the week, may bring unknown problems of life and it is not Monday to blame.

Every end and every beginning brings stress and anxiety. Probably this is why we celebrate our birthdays, graduation, marriage, circumcision, etc… Those signify milestones of our life that brings us closer to the unknown end.

Realize that Monday is just a word and it can have many  connotations with it. Moreover, you can manipulate these connotations in your mind when you have to confront with your Monday anxiety.

What you will face on every Monday is the same thing you face on every Sunday, or every other workday. Bear with it. Monday is neither king nor a serf. You can treat it anyway you like just realize that it’s not necessarily the beginning of a work week. It is our minds that make Monday a symbol for the beginning of irritating series of events.

Maybe you can evaluate the weekend for preparation if the coming week is a little more busy than usual. Thus you may feel prepared and more powerful against the anxiety of monday.

Having a good sleep would also prevent unnecessary anxiety. Sleep is always good for your body :)

* What do you think? Do you agree?


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Monday Syndrome.I heard this word just in a few year.But not strange to me now. Just I often have trouble with it.
Maybe i used a lot energy at weekend. Not balance to my sleep , i had a comfortable sleep on sunday, you can feel relax. But next you want to fight with you work again. So tired.
If we can change the holiday to wednesday, what a nice day.
I just chatted this topic with Nicole on Friday.

Comment by Florence Tsang ,2c 34

Great Florence! I love your response to this topic!

I tried to have a lot of sleeps and plenty of rest last weekend. It really helps me get rid of the Monday Syndrome this week! I worked a lot and am continuously very energetic to my work until now. We should take a good rest at weekends. Therefore I didn’t give much homework for you guys last weekend. Have you realised this? 😉

Comment by Nikki Bouteiller

The first time I heard about ‘Monday Syndrome’ is a Weekly Motto Speech in a morning assembly this year. Although it was not far away from now, I have had this kind of condition for nearly two years. My way to solve this problem is to think more about some special good things that I can only do on weekdays. For example, I love series of television drama very much which they would be shown on weekdays only, so I will be better when it comes to Monday? I believe all of us should be something happy to do only on weekdays. The concept of this idea is just to find something your hope to work out on weekdays. Therefore, imagine what you can enjoy starting form the next Monday!

Comment by Johnny, Help by Roger xdd




Leave a Reply

