Edutainment – Bouteiller’s English Teaching in Hong Kong


Edutainment
October 2, 2008, 11:06 pm
Filed under: My Weekly Journal

Two days ago, one of my students asked me why I set up a blog for teaching. I then disclosed my story.

Learning English opens the door of global culture. I love traveling arond the world and meeting people from different countries. During my leisure time, listening to various types of music, watching movies from different countries and dining different types of cuisines are my all-time favourite. I’m learning authentic ‘Englishes’ every day, and I enjoy it.

Going back to English teaching and learning, Longman is the ‘monopoly’ in Hong Kong. The examination-oriented education system is dehydrating the juice of English learning and teaching here. I’m such a rebel against traditional practices. I keep asking why we have to learn English. It’s not just for exams. It’s not just for a better job. It’s to discover the world! There are too many fun things in U.S., Europe and other foreign regions. Mastering English well can contribute so much more fun to one’s life.

Sorry, why did I start my blog again?!

Here comes my ‘question’ to the question: Why can’t we learn English thru entertainment? 

I go to university to enrich my linguistic knowledge every Tuesday and Thursday. Today, I came across a new word – Edutainment. I think this is the best word to describe my blog here. 🙂 What do you think?

(I hope I can help you discover fun in your English learning process. 🙂


11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

🙂

Comment by phoebe

I like to learn English thru songs, news ,books or other ways!

Comment by Marco@3A

Do you still watch the TV programmes on ATV World now? We have some good and interesting programmes on TV this weekend. Check it out! 🙂

Comment by Nikki Bouteiller

20 new vocabulary
1. http://www.thestandard.com.hk/breaking_news_detail.asp?id=7194&icid=3&d_str=20081003
2. http://www.thestandard.com.hk/breaking_news_detail.asp?id=7214&icid=3&d_str=20081003

1. Signal (n.)
– any communication that encodes a message.
e.g.1 Typhoon Signal No 1 remains in force as a tropical cyclone is now centered within 800 kilometers of Hong Kong.
e.g.2 A red lamp is used as a danger signal.
2. force (n.)
– an act of aggression (as one against a person who resists)
e.g.1 Typhoon Signal No 1 remains in force as a tropical cyclone is now centered within 800 kilometers of Hong Kong.
e.g.2 The moral force is on our side.
3. tropical (adj.)
– hot and humid as in the tropics.
e.g.1 Typhoon Signal No 1 remains in force as a tropical cyclone is now centered within 800 kilometers of Hong Kong.
e.g.2 We’ve had tropical weather for the past few days.
4. cyclone (n.)
– a violent rotating windstorm.
e.g.1 Typhoon Signal No 1 remains in force as a tropical cyclone is now centered within 800 kilometers of Hong Kong.
e.g.2 There will be the tropical cyclone tomorrow.
5. forecast (vt.)
– a prediction about how something (as the weather) will develop.
e.g.1 At noon, Tropical Storm Higos was estimated to be about 580 kilometers south-southwest of Hong Kong and is forecast to move northwest at about 15 kilometers per hour towards Hainan Island.
e.g.2 The teacher forecast that twenty of his pupils would pass the examination.
6. towards (prep.)
– see towards.
e.g.1 At noon, Tropical Storm Higos was estimated to be about 580 kilometers south-southwest of Hong Kong and is forecast to move northwest at about 15 kilometers per hour towards Hainan Island.
e.g.2 I saw her walking towards the bank.
7. distance (n.)
– the property created by the space between two objects or points.
e.g.1 Higos is forecast to remain at some distance from Hong Kong today and a higher signal is unlikely to be hoisted today.
e.g.2 It is a long distance from New York to Hongkong.
8. contain (vt.)
– hold back, as of a danger or an enemy.
e.g.1 No new food product has been found to contain excessive level of melamine today, according to the Centre for Food Safety.
e.g.2 The jar contains ten glasses of water.
9. melamine (n.)
– a white crystalline organic base
e.g.1 No new food product has been found to contain excessive level of melamine today, according to the Centre for Food Safety.
e.g.2 Don’t put melamine on it please!
10. satisfactory (adj.)
– meeting requirements
e.g.1 The test result of all 92 samples tested is satisfactory.
e.g.2 Of all the pens he tried, only one was satisfactory.
11. varieties (n.)
– a difference that is usually pleasant
e.g.1 These include a varieties of mainland-produced biscuits, chocolates, oatmeal, noodles, vermicelli, instant drink mixes and raw milk; and milk and milk beverages, ice-cream and cream produced in other places.
e.g.2 There are many varieties of color of this products for you choose.
12. oatmeal (n.)
– meal made from rolled or ground oats
e.g.1 These include a varieties of mainland-produced biscuits, chocolates, oatmeal, noodles, vermicelli, instant drink mixes and raw milk; and milk and milk beverages, ice-cream and cream produced in other places.
e.g.2 I don’t like having oatmeal for my breakfast.
13. vermicelli (n.)
– pasta in strings thinner than spaghetti
e.g.1 These include a varieties of mainland-produced biscuits, chocolates, oatmeal, noodles, vermicelli, instant drink mixes and raw milk; and milk and milk beverages, ice-cream and cream produced in other places.
e.g.2 I like vermicelli, today I want to have it for my lunch.
14. raw (adj.)
– informal terms for nakedness
e.g.1 These include a varieties of mainland-produced biscuits, chocolates, oatmeal, noodles, vermicelli, instant drink mixes and raw milk; and milk and milk beverages, ice-cream and cream produced in other places.
e.g.2 Most fruits are eaten raw.
15. beverages (n.)
– informal terms for nakedness
e.g.1 These include a varieties of mainland-produced biscuits, chocolates, oatmeal, noodles, vermicelli, instant drink mixes and raw milk; and milk and milk beverages, ice-cream and cream produced in other places.
e.g.2 Beverages are not allowed in the school bus.
16. enquires (vi.)
– have a wish or desire to know something
e.g.1 Until 1pm today, a total of 199 calls were made to the centre’s hotline 2125 1133 for public enquires on renal problems related to melamine-tainted products, this brings to 9,025 the total number of calls to the hotline since it was set up on September 21.
e.g.2 I enquired about trains to New York.
17. hotline (n.)
– special phone number of the company
e.g.1 Until 1pm today, a total of 199 calls were made to the centre’s hotline 2125 1133 for public enquires on renal problems related to melamine-tainted products, this brings to 9,025 the total number of calls to the hotline since it was set up on September 21.
e.g.2 I want to call the hotline of this company to tell them their sellers are not good enough.
18. renal (adj.)
– of or relating to the kidneys
e.g.1 Until 1pm today, a total of 199 calls were made to the centre’s hotline 2125 1133 for public enquires on renal problems related to melamine-tainted products, this brings to 9,025 the total number of calls to the hotline since it was set up on September 21.
e.g.2 My renal were injiued.
19. related (adj.)
– connected by kinship, common origin, or marriage
e.g.1 Until 1pm today, a total of 199 calls were made to the centre’s hotline 2125 1133 for public enquires on renal problems related to melamine-tainted products, this brings to 9,025 the total number of calls to the hotline since it was set up on September 21.
e.g.2 I am related to her by marriage.
20. safe (adj.)
– contraceptive device consisting of a thin rubber or latex sheath worn over the penis during intercourse
e.g.1 Until 1pm today, a total of 199 calls were made to the centre’s hotline 2125 1133 for public enquires on renal problems related to melamine-tainted products, this brings to 9,025 the total number of calls to the hotline since it was set up on September 21.
e.g.2 The house is not safe from theft.

Comment by Law Ching(Nicole)-2C24

Edutainment, education + entertainment. it’s kool.
I see you are so into English just like I am.
As a matter of fact, leanring English just simply through books, it’s kinda dull and bored, so lifeless. That’s why a lot people said that, English is boring and so difficult lol
They should probably have yet to learn English in a wide way, learn it widely instead of deadly.

I must confess that learning english through entertainment, through music/songs, through making friends from different countires, through TV, through games…or whatever….it’s a great pleasure of life after all.

I love travelling around the world, meeting people and making friends from different countries too. i hope someday in the future i can be just like you =]

btw, check out to the new song “i’m yours” by Jason Mrac, it’s fantastic, u’ll gonna love it=]

Comment by Lo Wing Chun, Mikael(2C28)

Hi Mike,

It’s so good to know that you enjoy learning English in a lively way too. I’m sure you can travel and meet new friends around the world as you grow up, especially when the information technology is booming.

Back in my old times, I needed to meet pen pals thru the traditional snail mailing system in order to make friends around the world. During my peak time, I had more than 200 pen pals. I spent most of my pocket $$ in postal expenditure and received 3-5 letters on average every day. Therefore, I was good at letter formats and used to write more or less the same things in English in a letter after another. (Of course, I could modify to a better version of my updates after my first trial.)

Nowadays, we can even meet people from abroad and chat freely on Skype. I think it is such a good software to provide us with free oral practice in English, French, German, Putonghua and all other languages. We should have no excuse in being unable to master a language well now.

Thank you for your song recommendation. I love that very much. It’s so relaxing. The song was recommended back in the summertime. I enjoyed watching the video and chilling out on my bed on Sundays last summer. See https://bouteiller.wordpress.com/2008/07/13/im-yours-by-jason-mraz/

You’ve got to check if your school Intranet email account is functioning properly.

Cheers!

Comment by Nikki Bouteiller

I watch the programme “five stars chef”.It is about cooking.I like to learn from knowing the name of foods.In the programme,I learn some new words like cane sugar,chicken stock(clear chicken soup).Learning inside the food is really good.

Comment by ng chung yin,witton 2A (24)

I watched the TV programme ‘Ian Weights Unfit Kids’ at 13:55 Saturday. It was about extremely overweight children in England. At first, they didn’t like doing exercise because it was really toilsome. Besides, other ‘normal’ children laughed at them due to their belly. It made them lose their confidence. Until they met Mr. A (sorry, I forget his name >.<). Mr. A is a sport fanatic. He is strong and healthy. He encouraged the children to keep fit. He also asked some companies for money in order to hold sport meetings in 20 schools. He discussed the matter of adding PE into one of the academic subject with a important person (I forget his job) in England too! His aim was every child can be healthy. During this process, the children and Mr. A met barriers and even wanted to give up. However, they overcame the problems. They continued their target-being healthy!
It is a touching progamme. Before I watched this progamme, I always thought that fat people ask for trouble themselves so I don’t commiserate them. I realize the feeling of fat people now. They know the problem of overweight but they can’t modify their habit because no one support them. They are lack of care and encouragement. Mr. A helped the children a lot. I remember that they had an argument about absence from their meeting. It showed that the children respected Mr. A.
I don’t discriminate fat people but from now on, I will care them as well. I want them to be energetic and pleased!

Comment by Shadow 2A 38

Edutainment-Product such as books , television programmes and especially computer SOFTWARE that both educate and entertain…
I know why you always prepare some games and song now because this word ‘Edutainment’ my father said that it was very hard at his age because they always need to memory thing all the time but nowadays we can remember the things easily by the games . (The forth Comment)Gigi

Comment by Gigi

I think so!=]I think learning English is very fun if we learn them in a fun way. Sometimes, when I don’t want to study the English books(during the examination), I want to surf the Internet and find some interesting things, but, it’s just a dream…=(
In fact, I’ll read my books borrowed from the library. No matter they are Chinese or English, I’ll be happy to read them because I can take a rest!=]
Times to times, I learn many things from these book. At first, I’ll check up the words that I don’t know. Later, I don’t need because when I read more books, I will learn more vocabulary and know what are the meaning.
I think learn Enhlish is a must.If you learn English in a fun way, you will put more affort on it, if not, you will think that English is a boring subject and will learn nothing.

Comment by Phoebe Tam ( 2A 32 )

I’m totally with you Phoebe. 🙂

Comment by Nikki Bouteiller




Leave a Reply

