Edutainment – Bouteiller’s English Teaching in Hong Kong


News update
September 18, 2008, 4:25 am
Filed under: * Pop Culture - Newspaper/ Magazine Columns *

September 17, 2008 1:45

Toxic Milk Powder Scandal Spreads

Posted by Austin Ramzy | Comments (8) | Permalink | Trackbacks (0) | Email This

 

Good news, folks. “Most companies’ baby milk powder is safe,” China’s State Council says. I think that’s meant to be reassuring. But “most?” That’s the always-look-on-the-bright-side way to say the tainted milk powder scandal (here’s our story from yesterday) that started with one producer, Sanlu, has now expanded to 22. More than 6,000 infants have fallen ill, and now a third child has died from consuming milk tainted with melamine, an industrial chemical that can cause kidney stones and renal failure. Tian Wenhua, the president of Sanlu, was sacked along with two local officials in Shijiazhuang, where the company is headquartered.

This threatens to be a repeat of last year, when problems were found in a huge range of foods and consumer goods made in China. But perhaps rather than call this a repeat, it’s better to say that it’s an old problem that never got fixed. A Hong Kong supermarket chain announced yesterday that it was recalling tainted frozen yogurt bars. How many more products are yet to come?

 

September 15, 2008 3:56

Obama and McCain on China

Posted by Simon Elegant | Comments (16) | Permalink | Trackbacks (0) | Email This

 

The American Chamber of Commerce in China has published letters from the two U.S. presidential candidates on how they would approach relations with China. There are no huge surprises, though the McCain letter has a pretty hard edge, particularly when it comes to human rights. Obama’s as you might expect, is more considered and softer in tone, both on human rights and other issues such as the exchange rate. Actually, Obama’s reads like it’s addressed to the Chinese authorities and U.S. businesses in China. The McCain letter seems to be more focused on the domestic U.S. audience, even taking a sideswipe at Obama. Here’s the Obama campaign’s letter. Mcain’s precedes in a separate post.

 

Why the Government Wouldn’t Let AIG Fail

By Justin Fox Tuesday, Sep. 16, 2008

The offices of of troubled insurer American International Group Inc. Stan Honda / AFP / Getty

After establishing a supposed hard line against bailouts over the weekend with Lehman Brothers, the government abruptly abandoned it Tuesday and announced an $85 billion Federal Reserve loan to insurance giant AIG. The explanation: AIG was deemed too huge (its assets top $1 trillion), too global and too interconnected to fail.

Go to www.time.com for full coverage

all cited from www.time.com


29 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I feel sad after I read the news of the toxic milk powder because many babies were sick and 3 of them died! I think this is a lesson of the government and I think they need to check the product carefully before they sell to the customers to prevent this incident occurs again.

Comment by selena yu (1D 38)

1.Some bad companies only focus on money-making. They sold tainted milk products which are essential products for every family. I think these companies should be punished. The Chinese government is responsible for loose supervision. I think the Chinese government should not allow tainted products which affect children’s health. It makes consumers lose confidence.

2.The two U.S. presidential candidates McCain and Obama focused on issues with China. Obama considered human rights and exchange rate. McCain considered businesses in China. They commented each other. I think their issues are very important and would affect relations with China in future. I hope Obama would be successful.

3. The US Government helped AIG but did not help Lehman Brothers. I think the US government is not fair. It is because both AIG and Lehman Brothers are too huge, too global and too interconnected. Even some investors of Lehman Brothers in Hong Kong are affected and lost money. They are also victims.

Comment by fung kei ching (1D13)

HOW TO DO NEWS UPDATE?

Comment by Huen Ka Lun, Jacky 1D(14)

very luckly,there are only 3 babies dead,many babies still alive.

I don;t think this is what goverment wrong.I think they don’t want make this question too.No one wants to be hurt babies,I relly think this is only a accident.

I relly hope that,babies can be safe,they can still alive.And I hope that,the 3 baabies who have dead,can be happy in the heaven.They will not have any sick,they will feel happy when they in the jesus arm.

Comment by sara lee1D21

Toxic Milk Powder Scandal Spreads

I was astonished at the news.Babies are guiltless.But why they should accept the accident?I was really heartache.Babies are very cute.They all have a life.When i think that they have kidney stone!I was implausible.

I hope all the babies will health and safe.And
their parents will relieve!Finally,i really hope the goverment can solve this matter properly.

Comment by Cheuk Tsz Yan(MIKA) 1D`8

Why the Government Wouldn’t Let AIG Fail

If AIG fails, many people over the world will lose their money and the world’s economy will also be affected. Because of this, the Government helps AIG.

Comment by 1D 36 Jeremy

Toxic Milk Powder Scandal Spreads

I think we need to check information of the products because some product will have some make of unknown origin.So,I think we need to check information of the product before we but it.

Finally,I think China businessmen should introspection what they do wrongly!

Comment by Christy Sham

Toxic Milk Powder Scandal Spreads

i felt very sad when i heard this new.luckily there are only a few of babies dead.The goverment should check the things periodicaly.Therefore the babies will not get sick.Lots of parents felt very sad because their babies got sick.I hope the babies to be recovered to health.

Comment by liao kong lap (1D)(24)

Why the Government Wouldn’t Let AIG Fail

I thought so luckily because Federal Reserve loan given $85 billion to AIG ,then AIG could’t fail. But some people thought why Federal Reserve loan did’t given Lehman Brothers money. It is because Lehman Brothers customer all was mechanism investor, but AIG customer except financial institution and the consumers around the world
So Federal Reserve loan given money to AIG.
I hope AIG could solve the problem, then elders could ease and America economical could relax .

Comment by Huen Ka Lun, Jacky 1D(14)

Toxic Milk Powder Scandal Spreads
I don’t feel it was lucky that only a few babies dead because there are three families get hurt.It’s not the problem of amount.It’s about a life.Although there are only one baby dead,I won’t feel lucky, too.

Comment by Pang Wing Yi 1D 28

I felt very upset,i don’t know why China have toxic milk who drink this milk so easy to die.I hope the babies will be healthy.

Government Wouldn’t Let AIG Fail,i don’t think it is wrong,because many people by AIG insurance.

Comment by CHAN CHEUK YIN (OWEN)

I was very sad that there was three babies were died .I think the most innocentis the babies because they didn’t know what’s the problem with the milk powder.I think the goverment should having keen sense of responsibility, they should sve the babies and compensate.

Comment by 1D09Gigi

Now, the world already have than 6,000 infants have fallen ill, and now a third child has died from consuming milk tainted with melamine, an industrial chemical that can cause kidney stones and renal failure. Another people like have problem of after establishing a supposed hard line against bailouts over the weekend with Lehman Brothers, the government abruptly abandoned it Tuesday and announced an $85 billion Federal Reserve loan to insurance giant AIG…I hope them do not have many problem after handle the problem. I hope the government will active to handle this event, will help the people who have problem, help them to go thought this event. I will help them to go thought this problem on mind and urge.

Comment by Tsang Lok Sze , Emily

Why the Government Wouldn’t Let AIG Fail

“Why the Government Wouldn’t Let AIG Fail”, this question I have thought that many times.Last, I found it at the news. Many people have invested on it. Backstretch,if it fail there are a lot of people will be bankruptcy so the government should
not let it fail. I think the government are a model for us to learn for their wholehearted heart to serve the nations.

Comment by Jack Chiang(1D)(10)

Why the Government Wouldn’t Let AIG Fail

I think the government should help AIG.
Because AIG was interconnected to the world’s economy.If AIG fail,many people will lose their jobs and many people will lose their money.

Comment by Pang Wing Yi 1D 28

Toxic Milk Powder Scandal Spreads

I felt very sad when I read this news. I think the babies are innocent. But it was a fact, no one can change it.

Finally, I hope the other babies who are not dead can have a health life.

Comment by Lee Hoi Ting,Jessica1D(20)

Obama and McCain on China

I think Obama is better than McCain.
Because I think a good president is not just care about his or her own country because when their country need help,the other conutries will help
them.It is what Chinese said,”All for one and one for all.”

Comment by Pang Wing Yi 1D 28

‘Why the Government Wouldn’t Let AIG Fail’

I think the government help AIG because they think if AIG fail,many peoples will lose money.Because AIG is a very big company in world.
Many people buy their stock . If AIG fail,the economics of world will collapse.So i think the government of America is very right.

Comment by ng wing him 1d 27

Toxic Milk Powder Scandal Spreads

I think most companies’ baby milk powder is safe.It is a good news.There will not many babies have kidney stones.Also ‘a third child has died’ is a good news because many babies have drink this milk and they have not sick.The chemical used in the milk should make babies die.There are the bad people just want money.But they make babies die.If here are not more than ten babies die,I will feel very happy.Because I don’t want many babies die.

I hope there will not many babies die.And I hope the people don’t used any chemical there.Because people cannot eat or drink some will make people die’s chemical.I am very sad about this news but there is a good news.So I feel little happy.

Comment by Tommy Cheng1D(6)

I think the news is startled.The babies had dead.I am sad too.I feel afraid because I think the China’s food is not safe.So I don’t buy the China’s food now.

Comment by Chan Ka Ki,Michelle(1D)(2)

I feel very surprise what i heard this new,and i also feel afeard,there were many babies because have drunk this milk,then the died.I always thimk “if u=i have drink this ,i will also died? But i don’t want to leave my parent, mey brother, everything about me.But i am luckyly, i haven’t drunk this milk,so ,i no need to leave everything.But,the babies were very pathetic,they just now born,they don’t know what happened,but they need to accept everything,they are very pathetic….

Comment by ashley yue suet ying(1D)(39)

I felt very sad when I heard this news.It was luckily just few babies dead.The goverment should check the food and drinks seriously.then there will not lots of people sick about food or drinks,there will not lots of babies felt uncomfortable,there will not lots of parents worried about their children.

Comment by Lam Hoi Kiu,Amy(1D16)

Why the Govermment Wouldn’t Let AIG Fail

I really surprise with this news.There were many people invested in this AIG.But now,the government abruptly abandoned it,Tuesday and announced an $85 billion Federal Reserve loan to insurance giant AIG. .So that,it fail many people lost a lot money or bankruptcy.
I think the government need to be patient to serve the nations.

Comment by Ricky Shek 1D 30

Toxic Milk Powder Scandal Spreads
I FELT SHKOCKED WHEN I SAW THAT MANY BABIES AFFECTED FOR THIS EVENT AND THE COMPANY IS THE BAD OD THE BAD.I NEVER BUY THEIR PRODUCT FOREVER AND FOREVER

Comment by 1D 26 charlie mong

”Toxic Milk Powder Scandal Spreads”

I feel very angry and upset because the toxic milk power made many babies ill or died.The babies is all innocent.They are deplorable.Why they can’t live in the world?

Comment by Hui Tung Lam(Kammy)1D.15

When I saw this new,I felt very sad.Because the milk made three child has died.I think the police should keep the villain and the villain need to gave some money to mum.I hope that new do not occur again.

Comment by Wong Ka Man,Karen(1D 35)

Toxic Milk Powder Scandal Spreads

Although most milk powder is safe, there is least of the milk powder is tainted. Even most of the milk powder is safe, we also cannot be slack. Exactly, least of the tainted milk powder made three infants died.
Even someone will say that there is only three infants died, but life is precious. We cannot hold cheap the life. The president and official were sacked, but toxic milk powder incident not yet be straighten out.
Lots of toxic food in the world is still harming humans.

Comment by 1D19 Cherry

Toxic Milk Powder Scandal Spreads
I am happy to hear the babies who drink toxic milk powder are ‘most’ safe,but there is also some babies died.
Although the company have scacked out,it is not enough to companstae to the parents who’s babies are die because of the Toxic Milk Powder.Life is not used to change the money.Money cannot save a life.
I won’t believe this company anymore,their empolyee did those thing,I think they need to have more punishment.

Comment by Lee Sze Wing,Cindy(S1D 22)

Obama and McCain on China
In these two America government presidential candidates,I think Obama have a higher chance to do the America government because some mewspaper offices have calculate the percentage of Obama and Mccain.Obama have a higher chance.

Comment by Jimmy2C40




Leave a Reply

