Edutainment – Bouteiller’s English Teaching in Hong Kong


All the other classes have done this. So, Please Do It, my S2 students!
June 11, 2008, 11:45 am
Filed under: S.2CD 2007-08, School Annoucement

Reflective Writing 4: Teenage Dating

Read the following letter.

Dear Agony Aunt

I am a thirteen-year-old form two student.  I have had a boyfriend since last year.  We see each other every day during the school day, after school and sometimes during the weekends.  He is very kind to me and also helps me with my homework.

Recently, living at home has become unbearably difficult.  Both my parents work and my mum often comes home tired.  If she sees me on the phone she becomes really angry and pulls the phone from my hand while I am in mid-conversation.  About two months ago she listened to my conversation and realized I was talking to my boyfriend.  She shouted at me for almost three hours then took away my mobile phone.  I am no longer allowed to go out in the weekends.

I have stopped talking to my parents but remain in my room when they are at home.  I try to spend as much time as possible with my boyfriend while they’re at work.  His parents also work so sometimes I go to his house.  I often do my homework with him or listen to music.  He always buys me lovely presents and even gives me lunch money at school.  Some days I don’t feel like going home and would like to stay with my boyfriend but that isn’t possible.

My school work is also being affected.  I used to be an average student but now I am almost at the bottom of my class.  I find concentrating during lessons very hard.  I am also reluctant to ask or answer questions in class because I am shy of my boyfriend.  The classmates always make rude jokes about us and some teachers think that I am not a nice girl.

I feel so unhappy with my life.  I don’t have any friends or family I can talk to.  I miss talking to my parents especially my mum but it seems like they don’t care about me.  What can I do?  My boyfriend seems to be the only person who really cares about me.  Therefore no matter what happens, I will not break up with him.  Please help me.

Yours sincerely

Cindy Poon

 

You are AGONY AUNT.  In 150 words, write a reply to Cindy giving her some advice that would help her through this difficult time.  Your advice should be thoughtful, realistic and mature.

OR

Agony Aunt has been asked to make a speech to all S2 students about ‘Teen Dating’ and the problems it can lead to as well as how to avoid/solve such problems.   In 150 words, write out the speech. Submit here.


47 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi Cindy! First of all I feel very sad about your situation. I think I can give you some advices and help you to solve this problem.
Firstly, I think you should talk to your parents. Although they had gotten angry with you, they care about you, do you know that? You should talk to your parents politely and tell them what are happening.
Secondly, you should not be annoyed by this problem, and you can try to talk to your teachers, and you may also ask them to help you carry on with your school work. At the same time, you can ask your classmates and make friends with them.
Lastly, it is about your boyfriends. Although your boyfriend really loves you or cares about you, you also need to care about your parents’ feeling. They have worked very hardly outside but you didn’t care about them and still make them angry. Therefore, start from now on you should care more about your parents.
Yours sincerely
Agony Aunt

Comment by Jason

Dear Cindy,
Hi Cindy! First of all I feel very sad about your situation. I think I can give you some advices and help you to solve this problem.
Firstly, I think you should talk to your parents. Although they had gotten angry with you, they care about you, do you know that? You should talk to your parents politely and tell them what are happening.
Secondly, you should not be annoyed by this problem, and you can try to talk to your teachers, and you may also ask them to help you carry on with your school work. At the same time, you can ask your classmates and make friends with them.
Lastly, it is about your boyfriends. Although your boyfriend really loves you or cares about you, you also need to care about your parents’ feeling. They have worked very hardly outside but you didn’t care about them and still make them angry. Therefore, start from now on you should care more about your parents.
Yours sincerely
Agony Aunt

Comment by Jason

Dear Cindy,

First of all, do you think that thirteen-year-old is suitable to have a boy friend?You are just a secondary school student! You should focus on your homework first. That’s what a normal stucdent should do.

Let me ask you a question. Which one is more important between family and boyfriend? Because of your boyfriend, you lost your family, the knowledge that you should learn during lessons. Because of your boyfriend, don’t you think that you have already lost a lot of things even yourself! After you have a boyfriend, although you may feel happy with him and get the care from him. But all these things are transient! You are still thirteen, do you think that you and your boyfriend can get together all one’s life? You know the change is very very little. If he doesn’t love you one day, who will still love you,care you? It’s your family!

Cindy, I know that you really want to salvage the relationship between you and your family, don’t you? Also, you are just a student, what should you focus on is your homework. If you abandon your homework because of your boyfriend, is it merit? I think you know the answer, right?
Lastly, remember to do the right things at right time. It’s not the age for you to have a boyfriend. Go and talk to your parents, I trust that they will help you!

Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by Yvonne:)

Dear Cindy,

I have read your letter and I know your situation. Don’t be so upset! The most important thing you should do is talk to your parents. I believe that your parents will listen to you.

No one can absolutely understand you except your parents. I suggest you to talk with your parents. I believe your parents are still caring you. There is no parents don’t care their daughter, isn’t it? I think she was angry because you hadn’t talk about your boyfriend to her before. Maybe she cares your future since she doesn’t know much about your boyfriend. Also, you should ask yourself: Do I spend too much time with my boyfriend? Maybe this one of the reason your mother felt angry. Whether or no, you should find some time to talk with your parents.

Learning is important to you, especially you now is the bottom in the class. You should put down all the things and pay attention to the lessons. Don’t be so annoy about you and your mother. Relax yourself! If you can get high mark in the coming test or exam, that means you can handle your work while you are dating with your boyfriend. Your mother must feel happy when she hears that!

Lastly, I think you should think about whether boyfriend or parents is more important in you mind. I believe you both love your parents and your boyfriend. You must spend time on both of them!

Don’t be so upset and grieved. Talk to your parents! Wish you can mend your relationship between you and your parents!

Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by Marco fish~2D

Dear Cindy,

i read your letter and know your story ,i hope my advise can help you.but before that ,i will tell you my situation ,i think that dating is a little bit too early for a secondary two student ,but you can take balance between it and your daily life it will be okay.
firstly ,i think you should have a talk with your parents ,ask them about there opion and tell them what you think .talk patiently ,it will heip .
secondly ,tell your boy friend ,and see if you two should continue or not .and thirdly ,try not to care too much about your boyfriend and be like how you used to be in class .
i know it may be hard for you to do it ,but try it ,maybe the result is better then you think .Good luck !
Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by sum

14 June 2008
Dear Cindy,

I known your case though your letter. I can give you some advice about your problem.

Firstly, I must let you know, thirteen-year-old is not a suitable age for us to get to know somebody. It may need to spend many time for us to know each other by talking, playing, and so on. It will affect your learing in school. Also, you may be no time for brush up after school, don’t you?

In order to promote awareness and early intervention, I think you should talk to your counselling teacher, let him/her to get between you, your boyfriend and your parents because you may not know how to express your feeling, don’t you? Then, you may need to break up with your boyfriend because learning is much more important than getting a relationship to others. knowledge is useful around the world so you must learn enough to catch up with the rapid development society. Do you agree?

Furthermore, between you and your parents, after your counselling teacher explain to them, they will know how to talk to you throughout they are all very put out when you got a relationship wioth a boy.

Lastly, don’t feel frustration, many people are backing you up. I am looking forward to you will reply a letter to me about you life after you have solve the problem, won’t you?

You sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by Arthur

Dear Cindy,
Thank you for sharing your problems with me. I understand your feelings because I have also faced the resembling issues when I was in your age.
At that time, my parents always came back home late and I was just at home alone. I can’t find anyone I could talk to and express my emotions. No longer, I met my boyfriend. We always dated in weekend and I began to ignore my study. Also, I could not pay attention in my class. My parents just scolded me whenever they back home and I even didn’t take notice to them.
However, I could not promote to form three because my result didn’t reach the target. I was regret and I began to work hard. I also apologize to my parents for my impudent and they also forgave me.
In fact, I think dating is not bad but it is not really suitable for our ages. If you really want to have a boyfriend, then you must always remember to concentrate your study. Moreover, you should not always talk on the phone, this may waste your time and your money! You can talk in school in the recess time or lunch hour.
Besides, I think you should consider your parents’ difficulties. They are too tired in working for gaining money to bring you up, so you must understand them. Furthermore, they punished you just because they care you. They don’t want you to go a bad road. They just care of you. So don’t think that your parents and your friends don’t care about you. That is just you cannot notice about it.
Be happy all the times! =]
Best regards,
Agony Aunt

Comment by CCK

Some of you write well with a good structure and presentation. You state your points clearly in different paragraphs, like Jason’s, Marco’s and Arthur’s.

Make sure that you start a new paragraph for a new point.

Don’t use comma as your full stop!! End you sentence properly.

Recall different sentence patterns learnt on one of your sentence making worksheet. (20 different sentence patterns for you to choose.)

Comment by Nikki Bouteiller

14 June 2008
Dear Cindy,

After I read your letter, I am surprised that you have a boyfriend in 13 years old. I think it is too young to have a boyfriend.

Do you think it is a suitable time to have a boyfriend when you have a study? I don’t think so. Let me have a point of view form you. You think that your parents do not care about you because they always scold you. Then your thought is wrong absolutely! Because they are care for you, they are thoughtful for you about the future, and they don’t want you to have some faults when you grow up. Without your parents’ loving care, can you solve the problems or difficulties when you are little by yourself? I think you can get the answer, right?

Do you think that your boyfriend can stay with you forever? Of course, I hope he can stay with you. However, the problem is, can you separate the time with your boyfriend and focus on your study correctly? Most of the teenagers think that they can do it! Unfortunately, they cannot. Do you know the reason? When they share the time with their lovers, they will feel sweet and don’t care anything especially their studies. They may think that study will disturb them, so they don’t need to take care on the studies. Finally, the exam results are poor. Therefore, that is one of the reason that why your school work is affected. Don’t worry! You can start again now. When you have some difficulties, try to ask your teacher and classmates. Don’t be afraid with them. Don’t ask ‘Will they play tricks on me in my homework?’ in your heart. Because they will help you whenever.
Try to be comfortable and happy with your parents, teachers and classmates. Be confidence yourself! I trust you can do it! Try your best! I will back you up. I am welcome to you to write a letter to me about your comments or some problems that you want me to help you to solve.

Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt
Miss Agony Aunt

Comment by Angel

Dear Cindy,

After I read through your letter, I understand the difficulties you are facing since many teens like you ask me advices for similar situations as well.

Firstly, having a boyfriend is almost common for secondary students. However, I think you should not spend too much time on being with your boyfriend after school or in the weekends because it may affect your studies negatively. Remember spend time appropriately.

Secondly, arguing with families because of boyfriend is definitely typical for youngsters nowadays. Despite your mum comes back home tired and scolded you, and even took away your mobile phone. Yet, do you know why your mum did such hateful thing to you? All is because she loves and cares about you! You will not see a stranger come up to you and cold you on the street, will you? Try to think from your mum’s perspective. Therefore, try to break the “wall” between your mum and you and talk to your parents, you will find you parents are the one who love you permanently.

Thirdly, you do no have to be shy to ask or answer questions during class because of minding what your classmates are gossiping about your boyfriend and you. Just do yourself to prove that you are not shy of your boyfriend. Moreover, you should behave well in class and get good results to prove that you are not affected due to having a boyfriend, thus your teachers will change their impressions about you.

Lastly, tell your boyfriend what you think and never just endure what your boyfriend doing wrong. Hope you can get along well with your boyfriend, family and friends. I believe they always back you up in any time.

Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by da!sy

Dear Cindy,
Thank you very much of your letter. I read it and I know your situation. I’m very glad to help you.
It seems that you had some misunderstanding experiences with your parents. However, it is not serious at all. You should have more communicate with your parents. Your parents must be concerned about you so they would be vexation. You should take a heartsease attitude and the problems will be better.
I consider that you should pay more attention on your study as well. I know you need attention from your boyfriend, but I think you shouldn’t pay all on him. You can also handle both study and affection. Can’t you?
You can study with your boyfriend to improve together. I think you parents also hope for these.
I wish you can have better relationship with your parents in the future.
I hope that it will never affect your affectionate. If you need more help, please write to me again.
Best regards,
Agony Aunt

Comment by Katrina.

Dear Cindy,
I have read your letter. I feel very sad for your situation. I can give you some advices. I hope I can help you.
Firstly, you have mentioned in your letter that your mother shouted at you when she know that you are talking with you boyfriend. She is angry because she cares about you. She is caring of your future. Although she may be too harsh to you, but you should try to understand her.
Secondly, dating really will affect your studies. I think that you should only be friends with him. Although he is very kind to you, but dating will affect your studies and also your future. It’s better to have relationship with others after you have grown up.
Finally, it’s not that no one cares about you. Your family still cares about you, and your teachers also cares about you. You are not alone.
I hope my advices could help you.
Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by Stella

Dear Cindy,

After I read your letter,I know that the things that you are facing.but i thing it is too young to have a boyfriend now in 13 years old!

Firstly,do you think that it is a suitable time to have a boyfriend when you have a study? i think if you only care about your boyfriend then your school mark may be drop down quickly.and other hand,if you only care about your school mark,then how about your boyfriend?therefore,i don’t think so that it is a suitable time to have a boyfriend when you have a study.

Secondly, dating is not may be good thing to you.it will avoid your school mark,all day go out to play.

Finally,i really don’t agree you to have boyfriend now.you have already tell your parents?hope that you can think serouly.

Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by ting>x

Dear Cindy,

I know the problems that you are facing after I read your letter.I give you some suggestions, it may be help you.

Frist of all,your mother angry with you when she heard about that you have a boyfriend,had you think the feeling of her?Generally,the parents can’t to accept their sons or daughters to have boyfriends or girlfriends when they are only Form 2 students, it can be comprehend.You should talk to your parents, let them know your feeling, not remain in room or stop speaking to your parents.

Second, you have troublesome on the study.I think you can’t pay attention to the lessons because your boyfriend. You always think about him during lessons , so you can’t consentrated on it.May be when the exam is coming, you two don’t talk or together for an hour more. The rest of time is to brush up your study. It can let you have a better result in exam,also, it is a certificate to your parents that have a boyfriend won’t disturb your study at all.

I hope these advices can help you.

Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by Ella

15 June
Dear Cindy,

I have read your letter and i know your feelings. You are just thirteen-year old student, aren’t you? Do you think you are too young about dating?

Firstly,you are form two student. Have you thought that the advantages and disadvantages about dating in secondary school? You may say that I’m a thirteen-year-old form two student, why should think these kind od problem? Or, you may say, I’m playing like a game, it needs not too serious to think these proplem!

Secondly, refer to your letter, you said that after you had dating in form two, your result of exam bacomes poor and poor. It seems that your boyfriend makes you do not absorbed in the class.
So, your result becomes poor then before!

I think that you should think carefully. You are young. It’s not too acceptable to talk about dating! I suggested you try to be a friend with your boyfriend, think about is it good for your life. For your family, you try to talk with them and apologise to them. About your friend, you should tell them not to discuss anymore!

Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by Harry

Dear Cindy,
Hi,Cindy.I have read your letter and I know the difficulties now you are facing.Let me give you some advice and don’t be so depressed!
First of all,I know you really love your boyfriend very much but is it necessary to see each other every day and it has already affect your study and the relationship between you and your parents.Do you think it is good for you?In my position,I think you should talk to your boyfriend and not to see him so often since you two can see each other every school day.
For your parents,I think you should have a talk with them and tell them your real feeling.I believe that they will listen to you because they love and care you forever.
You should promise your parents that you will concern with your study since now and I think it can renovate your relationship with your parents.
Hope these can help you and remember to be happy all the time.
Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by coco

15 June 2008
Dear Candy,

I have read your letter and I know your situation. Don’t be sad! I can give you some suggestions.

Firstly, I think you should share your things to your parents. For example, your school life, your boyfriend,etc. I know you have atudying problems. You can ask your parents to help you. They may help you to join some English course, or take you to extension classes after school.

Secondly, you should allot your time well. You should talk to your boyfriend about the dating. You should stay with him after the exams. I think he will know your situation. If he don’t care about you this, don’t in love now, find another boyfriend when you grow up. This is in your age, you may not know what is “responsibility”.

Cheer up! Hope i can help you to solve the problems.

Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by Jessica

Good morning S2 students,
Today I want to talk about “Teen Dating”.
I know some of you maybe have boyfriend or girlfriend,
and all of you have facing the same problem. You afraid that your parent against ,so you won’t tell them that you have dating.
In fact, your parents will against you have dating. It is because they want to protect you. They afraid that you will be hurt ,so they want you have dating later,
until you can protect yourself.
Because you afraid they will against you have dating so you don’t tell them ,but about this problem they more afraid you will hurt after.
Actually ,if you tell your parents that you have boyfriend or girlfriend maybe they will against you ,but they at less know who with you ,when come up some problem ,they may feel easy in mind more.
Besides your parents know about your boyfriend or girlfriend, you can also let them meet each other ,so your parents will feel more safety.

Comment by karen but

Dear Candy,

Hello! Candy, I know your problem through the letter. You don’t need very upset and helpless. I will give some advice to help you to face this situation.

Firstly, I don’t agree that secondary two student can dating because this time is more suitable for study. Do you know dating will affect your school life? I think you know already.

Secondly, I think your parents are worry about your school life will be affected so they were anger. But if you can still study hard, pay more attention during class and get good result when you have dating. I will not to oppose dating is bad for you and I think your parents will not to oppose you also because you can take good care of your own times. So if you want to have dating and not make your parents become anger, you must study hard.

Lastly, I sure believe that your parents will listen to you because they are still care about you. You try to talk to them. Remember to study hard to let your parents feel pleased.

Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by phoebe

15th June, 2008
Dear Cindy,

I have read through your letter and I hope you are alright. Don’t be upset and hesitate. I have few advices below and they may help you.

Firstly, I think you really need to think about your relationship among your boyfriend and your family. I think your mum just wanted to care about you. She angered with you because she don’t want you spend too much time on your boyfriend. I think she want you to spend more time on some meaningful things, rather with your boyfriend. Don’t feel bad with your mother.

Secondly, do you ever realize your academic result is being affected after you meet your boyfriend? I think you are too young to have a boyfriend. You are only thirteen years old! A thirteen years old child should be focused on learning. I think you should put your school learning on the first position. Having a boyfriend is not suitable for your age. It will affect many things in your life.

Lastly, I want you to know that thirteen-year-old is too young to have a boyfriend. You may think having a boyfriend can make you happy but I suggest you should also think the disadvantages. Friends also can make you happy, can’t they? You can make friends because friends are more acceptable for parents and also more suitable for your age.

So, you should not have a boyfriend. You can ask your boyfriend to be your friend. Remember your life not only have your boyfriend. You should talk more to your parents. They really care about you. Hope you can feel happy with your life again.

Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by LISKA

Dear Cindy,

I have read your letter and I know what you are worrying about.Let me share with you my advice.

Firstly, I am astonished that you, thirteen-year-old form two student have had a boyfriend. The responsibility of a form two student is to study hard and not to talk about any love. You still are a little girl your thoughts are not really mature. You should be more thoughtful. You should not have a boyfriend now and you should catch up with you study.

Secondly, you know that your mum often tired after work and you should not ignore her and just keep on talking on phone. You should think about why does your mum often work so tired. She’s not just earn for herself,is she?

Lastly, I think you do not have enough communication with you parents. Maybe you can find a spare time and talk with your mum first or just write a notelet to your parents tell them what you are thinking about and let them know more about you.

Be happy! I am backing you up and I am looking forward to know your good news!

Yours sincerely
Agony Aunt

Comment by Jing

15 June 2008
Dear Cindy,

I have already read your letter, I know what problem what you meet. I can give you some advice to back you up.

You can talk to your parents calmly about your feeling. Your mother is very tired when she went home so she has a bit angry when see you talk on the phone. She wants you to be good so she don’t want you to go out. But have you think of yourself before? Have you think it is very young that you have a boyfriend? I don’t mind you have a boyfriend but be careful, you only a thirteen years old girl, you don’t know what is love. You have a boyfriend is ok but you make your school life become worst, do you think it is good or not?

I hope you understand my advice; I want you to be good too. I hope you think of my question and do the best action. I will help you talk to your mother so that you should think careful. Be happy, upset can not solve the problem.

Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by Amy

Dear Cindy,

I’ve read your letter. In fact this problem quite common in teenagers.
Firstly, I think your mum is for your own good. She afraids that your life will be affected by your boy friend. As you known, she is correct. I think that you are still too young to date with your boy friend. You can’t get the balance within your boy friend and school work.
Secondly, your mum works hard in her work. She will become very tired if you add some trouble to her. You need to understand your mum. On other hand, once you break up with your boy friend, I think you can’t pay attention during your school lesson. The problem will become more serious.
Lastly, the best solution is to talk to your mum in calm. And you can tell your boy friend. You can’t be a couple with him now. You and he can become good friend! 🙂
If you have any question, you can find me!

Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by Karina:)

Dear Cindy,

At that time, my parents always came back home late and I was just at home alone. I can’t find anyone I could talk to and express my emotions.My parents just scolded me whenever they back home and I even didn’t take notice to them.
firstly ,i think you should have a talk with your parents ,ask them about there opion and tell them what you think .talk patiently ,it will heip .
secondly ,tell your boy friend ,and see if you two should continue or not .

Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by Viyoko

Dear Cindy,
Hi Cindy, after I read your letter, I know about your situation but I felt concern about you.
It seems your boyfriend put a lot of mind on you and really cares about you. But don’t you think it disturb your studies and school life. Your classmates were wrongs to make rude jokes about you, it‘s not very serious, right? You said your boyfriend seems to be the only person who really cares about you but I think the problem he brings to you was too large.
I used to talk on the phone when I was young too! But just control yourself. Whenever what you think, I think you should try to talk to your parents. If you think it’s too directly you can write a letter to them, tell them your feelings. I think it will improve. Do control yourself, if you always go to your boyfriend’s home, spend time with him will affect your study. If you love him, and he love you, you those should leave a space for each other, not spend that many time. Or else love may weaken.
On the other hand, do you think your boyfriend is the one that can spend your whole life on? Will he leave you one day? Remember, there has many people will cares you, who love you just you haven’t realize .Cindy, open your eyes and be kind to everyone including those who hurt you, let them feel your changes and accept you!

Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by Secret

Dear Cindy,

Don’t feel unhappy, stay positive! You can find Aunt Agony when you need help. I will be your listener at any time.

Firstly,I don’t think dating at secondary school is all bad. But if you don’t know how to handle love and school works. Then dating is a big problem for you. I know that because of your boy friend, you have quarrel with your mother and the result of you school is decreasing. You should think about are you put too much effort on dating? In this age, what is the most important thing to you? You should know how to balance these two things. For me, I suggest you say sorry to your mother first. Because you had done wrong in this. I think your mother will forget you.

In conclusion, think carefully before you done. If you feel unhappy or have problem, please ask me.I will be at you side when you need it.

Yours sincerely
Aunt Agony

Comment by Michelle

Dear Candy,

Hello, Candy, I think the teens dating’s problem really makes you in a trouble. Now, I am going to help you to face this situation

Firstly, I don’t agree with you to have a boyfriend in this secondary school’s age because it really affect you in many place, for example, your school’s result, the relationship between family and friends.

I think that teenagers will like to have fun or exciting experience such as dating with others. But do you think about the serious consequence? Your teachers, friends, or even your parents may feel disappointed with your beaver, and also your result. For the sake of a boyfriend and you make everyone around you think frustrate with you, is it merit?

In conclusion, I want to give you an advance is that I really think that you should not date in this age as you are just a secondary two student. Think clearly, I think you are a clever girl and you can find the best way to balance and find out which thing you need and is most important now. Is a boyfriend, or the important people surrounding you such as parents, teachers and friends?

Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by B0W!E:)

Dear Candy,
Hi Candy, thank you for your letter. I knew what are your problems and your situation.

Firstly, I don’t think dating is not bad if it has good effects to both of you. If you two study togather or encourage each other while exams or tests is good. But if you only play or chatting with each other, I think now is not a suitable time for you to have datings.

Secondly, you said that your appearance is getting worse during class. You can still answer questions no need afraid you classmates if you have confidence. You can keep being a good student.

Finally, you can talk with your parents about things between you and your boyfriend. Find some evidence to support your love. If you promise your parents you can take good care of you study, I think they will trust you and allow you dating boyfriend. Unless you did very bad.

Try your best to seperate the time for each part.

Your sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by Mary

Dear Cindy,

Hello! Cindy, I know your problem through the letter. You don’t need very upset and helpless. I will give some advice to help you to face this situation.

Firstly, I don’t agree that secondary two student can dating because this time is more suitable for study. Do you know dating will affect your school life? I think you know already.

Secondly, I think your parents are worry about your school life will be affected so they were anger. But if you can still study hard, pay more attention during class and get good result when you have dating. I will not to oppose dating is bad for you and I think your parents will not to oppose you also because you can take good care of your own times. So if you want to have dating and not make your parents become anger, you must study hard.

Lastly, I sure believe that your parents will listen to you because they are still care about you. You try to talk to them. Remember to study hard to let your parents feel pleased.

Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by phoebe

Dear Cindy,

Cindy,i have been read your letter,i know that you got some problems with your family and friends make you unhappy, let me try to help you solve the problems!

First, i must sure that no parents do not love their children,you should also to take care of them as they work so hard.Besides, your mother punish you talk so long on the phone, she also wants someone to chat with her, and she may get a pressure in her work.

Secondly, you are a secondary student,you should put your attention at your study, it is good for you for the futur.Moreover, you almost at the bottom of your class,you should be more hard working in you lessons and do more exercise.

Lastly, you are only 13-year-old,your boyfriend may not with you forever when both of you become old.You have a long long time to choosing your boyfriend, i think you have your boyfriend after you get a good job.It is also good for your life!

Finally, try to talk with your parents, try to brush up your study,i think that you can do better!

Yours sincerely,
Agony AuntDear Cindy,

Cindy,i have been read your letter,i know that you got some problems with your family and friends make you unhappy, let me try to help you solve the problems!

First, i must sure that no parents do not love their children,you should also to take care of them as they work so hard.Besides, your mother punish you talk so long on the phone, she also wants someone to chat with her, and she may get a pressure in her work.

Secondly, you are a secondary student,you should put your attention at your study, it is good for you for the futur.Moreover, you almost at the bottom of your class,you should be more hard working in you lessons and do more exercise.

Lastly, you are only 13-year-old,your boyfriend may not with you forever when both of you become old.You have a long long time to choosing your boyfriend, i think you have your boyfriend after you get a good job.It is also good for your life!

Finally, try to talk with your parents, try to brush up your study,i think that you can do better!

Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by kik0:D

Dear Cindy,

Cindy,i have been read your letter,i know that you got some problems with your family and friends make you unhappy, let me try to help you solve the problems!

First, i must sure that no parents do not love their children,you should also to take care of them as they work so hard.Besides, your mother punish you talk so long on the phone, she also wants someone to chat with her, and she may get a pressure in her work.

Secondly, you are a secondary student,you should put your attention at your study, it is good for you for the futur.Moreover, you almost at the bottom of your class,you should be more hard working in you lessons and do more exercise.

Lastly, you are only 13-year-old,your boyfriend may not with you forever when both of you become old.You have a long long time to choosing your boyfriend, i think you have your boyfriend after you get a good job.It is also good for your life!

Finally, try to talk with your parents, try to brush up your study,i think that you can do better!

Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by kik0:D

Dear Cindy,
After I read your letter, I understand what’s feeling when you are facing this problems. Nothing is cannot solve in this world. Let’s me try to help you!
Firstly, I don’t think dating when secondary student is good. It is because this may be affect your study. In this age, the most thing that we should concentrate is study. Study is very important for our future.
Do you know why your parents do not accept you to dating now? They afraid your study will be affected by dating. And you may cannot get a good result so cannot find a good job in the future. Why you choose this study time to dating? After you become a adult and have a good job, you also can dating and form a family. I think this moment is more suitable for dating.
If you really want to dating, something you need to pay attention. That is you cannot talk on phone with you boyfriend all the times and forget your study. Make sure your dating will not affect you study or so on. You have to link up with your parents. Let them understand more about you. Do not just care your boyfriend and forget your friends. Friend is very important ,they are your target who are care about you.
Yours sincerely
Agony Aunt

Comment by natalie

Dear Cindy
After I read your letter, I understand your feeling and problems. I will try to help you.
Firstly, I think you are to young for dating. You are only a secondary student, you should work hard and learn. Dating will affect your study and make you pay no attention un class. You should be more concentrate with your studies.
Secondly, I think your parents still care about you. They are just afraid that it will affect your study. You have to talk with your parents to have a good relationship with them.
Lastly, I think dating is not suitable for your age. Do not just care about dating.
Yours sincerely
Agony Aunt

Comment by jenna

Dear Cindy,
After I read your letter, I know that you are unhappy for your school days and your parents. I can give you some advice about what can you do.
Firstly, I think that you are not suitable to have boyfriend in secondary school. Because you will have no enough time to have revision or study. It will affect your school work and also it will affect your future. Therefore, maybe you should wait until you are suitable to have boyfriend.
Secondly, I know that you are unhappy for your parents because of they have punishing you. They punish you is because of they love you, they care you. There is not much parent do this like your parents. Do you want that your parents not care about you? I think you should talking to your parents and gives care to them. They are working for take care of you and let you have a good life!
Lastly, I hope you can solve the problem in your daily life.
Yours sincerely
Agony Aunt

Comment by moon

Dear Cindy,
After reading your letter,I understand your feeling.In our life, there are many things will occur and we need to face it.I can give you some advice about how to face to your situation.
Firstly, you should find some time to talk to your mum,let her know your feeling and the problems you are facing.Don’t get away with your problem between you and your perents.You need to bulid a good relationship to your perents.They may help you in the difficulty that is hard to overcome.
Secondly,you need to spend more time in your school work.Get a good result and show it to your perents , teachers and classmates,let them know you are a good girl. You can do it,do you?
If you can handle them , friends may come to you activley.As for your boyfriend, you may also keep the same relationship with him, but you should know what you are doing about !If you find that it’s too difficult to handle all things well, i suggest that you should study well first instead of dating.
Don’t think that your parents do not care you.They work busy and you should stand as their situation to think.
Lastly,I hope you can learn something in this experience and learn how to do in your future.
Yours sincerely
Agony Aunt

Comment by christy :)

Dear Cindy,
I have read your letter and I understood your situation and difficulties. That’s also the problems that many teenagers are facing. Don’t be worried. Let me give you some advices.
Firstly, many secondary school students are dating. But I think the students should concentrate on their studies. 13 years old, should be a particular period to attend school.
So the students should avoid dating. If you still want to date, you should take good care of your time management. You should have a plan which used to demarcate the time for date, studies and family. If you can carry out the plan prefer, the frequency of arguing of your family could be decrease, the position of your studies in your class could be prmote.
Secondly, you need to enhance the communication between you and your family.
Lastly,I hope you can solve you vexation. If you got the plan, just carry it out! But if you still feel vexatious, you can continue to write me a letter.
Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by Serena

Dear Cindy

I am so glad to receive your letter. Some young people always feel shy and don’t feel like to talk to anyone about their love. You surely don’t afraid of sharing your words.

Firstly, I want to tell you that I used to have the same thought as yours during my teenage years. Dating in young years definitely hurt my academic field because I did not know how to allocate my schedule and I always thought my parents would not care about me. You know what, Cindy? We had the wrong thought in our minds.

Our parents always love us the most. They want to give us the best and always share the past experience which is beneficial to us in the future. During my teenage years, my parents preferred me not to date anyone. But since I started it, they gave me valuable advice on striking a right balance on dating and academic field. I can tell you what they said to me. They said we could go to library to study more, discuss the homework together, and play sports with our mutual friends. That would make our lives healthy even if we date in teenage years.

I hope you will take my advice. Don’t hesitate to write me a few lines if you have more questions. I hope you will be good.

Yours sincerely
Agony Aunt

Comment by Joel

Dear Cindy,

I have received your letter and I have experienced it. Let me give you some advice.

You are only a thirteen years old student; does u think it is really suitable to date? Let us discuss it.

The job of a form three student is to concentrate on study, learn more, and do your homework. Dating is affecting your study, it don’t allow u to do what the normal student did.

In the other hand, dating is destroying the relationship between your parent and u; does u mean it is just the realization? Let me tell you my story…

When I was a form two student, I was on dating, I trust my boyfriend, but at last, he just left me and gone because we were not in the same class. I was timid to find out the reason, but I realized later. I was delighted about it, because he has stolen money from his next girlfriend; I am glad that she is not me.

Does u want to follow my way? Maybe u will say your boyfriend is really love u. Maybe u think u knows what love is. You are only controlled by yourself. Hope you will have a fragrant future.

Yours sincerely
Agony Aunt

Comment by alex

Dear Cindy,
First of all, don’t be angry now because I will listen to you. I know the problem and I will give some advice to you.
Now, you are S.2 student, all the people will think that you are a student; your mission is to study well. But, I know that if they keep on punish you and don’t not accept you to date with your friend, you will hate your parents. Therefore, I think you should talk to your parents what you want and what you want to do. Then they will ask you to study. I think you can solve this problem by getting a good result to show them dating will not affect your study result
Second, if you study hard and get a good result, the classmates will start to look on you. It can solve another problem. It is the same method. You can say that if you get a good result, then you can do everything you want.
If you want your parents to give you freedom, then you should study hard now.
Finally, have you though about if the boy leaves you one day and you don’t have any knowledge to show that you are a good student. What is the result? You will not have any money because you cannot find some more comfort job. Have you thought about it? You must think that now. i wish you will listen what I have said. Remember! Study is the best way to solve those problems

Comment by kit@2c

Dear Cindy,
First of all, don’t be angry now because I will listen to you. I know the problem and I will give some advice to you.
Now, you are S.2 student, all the people will think that you are a student; your mission is to study well. But, I know that if they keep on punish you and don’t not accept you to date with your friend, you will hate your parents. Therefore, I think you should talk to your parents what you want and what you want to do. Then they will ask you to study. I think you can solve this problem by getting a good result to show them dating will not affect your study result
Second, if you study hard and get a good result, the classmates will start to look on you. It can solve another problem. It is the same method. You can say that if you get a good result, then you can do everything you want.
If you want your parents to give you freedom, then you should study hard now.
Finally, have you though about if the boy leaves you one day and you don’t have any knowledge to show that you are a good student. What is the result? You will not have any money because you cannot find some more comfort job. Have you thought about it? You must think that now. i wish you will listen what I have said. Remember! Study is the best way to solve those problems

Yours faithfully,
Agony Aunt

Comment by kit@2c

dear cindy,
i have recived your letter, i will give u some advice to you.
i will not say u and your boyfriend must separate. but you are a student now, so your main job is learn well at school and be a good student. don’t make yourself a bad student. don’t think you are just form 2, it is not neccessories, if u don’t work hard in form 2, you might not understand some important points.
second, about your classmate, i think there are just want to make jokes, don’t think there are no one care and understand you.
i also think you should talk to your parents, a mother or father must care their children, don’t think they are bad to you. you should get a good result in the exam so you can show that your marks are not being effected. solve the problem by yourself, be responsible.
finally, i hope you will think deeply what i said, and think how to solve the problem correctly. remember!!! you are a student, the job of a student is to study!!!

Yours faithfully,
Agony Aunt

Comment by AdriAn

Dear Cindy,
I have read your letter already.I feel you are very poor.I am not talking about your money, but your love. I am not looking down on you, infact, I have met many teenagers have the same case as you, and I felt upset on them too!

Although you have a boy friend, and I trust that he can give you happiness. But have you ever thought that you can’t only get the love from your boyfriend? The most important kind of love in your age should be the love with your family.
Sometimes you may disagree the action of your parents, and you give them a bad reaction. But have you thought that what is the purpose of their action? And what will that feel about your reaction? So don’t always think that your parents hate you, infact their action are all for your own good! And you should obey them and care about your family too!

Finally, hope you understand what I am saying and do some action now. Hope you can enjoy a life full of love in the future!

Yours faithfully,
Agrony Aunt

Comment by DaNnY sE

Dear Cindy,

I have read your letter and I understood your situations and difficulties. Well , actually this problem is common between teenagers and most of them didn’t know how to handle.And thus, let me give you and all the others some of my advices.

Firstly, I think it’s just too young for a 13-year-old girl to have a boyfriend coz try to think about your future, though your boyfriend help you with your studies, your result in school did get worse, didn’t you? Also, as days pasts, do you think your relationship with your boyfriend today can last forever? Of course i hope that yours can, yet thinking at a negetive way, who will stay with you when you break up with your boyfriend one day?

Secondly, I think you should spend some time to talk with your parents. Problems will never be solved if you just escape from it,oppositely, what you should do is to face this problem. Try to stand on your parents situation, they did such a thing just because they didn’t know your feelings and understand you. In this case, i think you should try to find a time to talk with them.

Lastly, about your friends and your boyfriend. Did you tell them your situation and how you feel?
Be strong and take courage, if you didn;t tell how you feel, they will just keep on doing such a thing. Although your boyfriend helps you brush up your studies, do you think you really come up from behind?

Well, i can’t control their feelings, but you can by telling them how you think.What i can do is to give you some advices, you may not follow, yet I also overcome this situation before. Therefore, i can understand you and give you a better advice.
Work hard, you are the one to change this situation=]

Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by Connie

Dear Cindy,

I have recive your letter and I knowing what you are facing at. Don’t be so sad. It is only a tiny thing of your life. Dating is really not suitable for a 13 years old students.

Firstly,as you have understood it that dating will affect your school. Being a good student, he should be responsible to his learning, exams and homework as well. But you are now almost at the bottom of your calss. I think you should better thinking of the solving solution.

Family is the most important thing in everyones’ life. Stopp talking to my parents but remain in my room when they are at home is not the solution of solving your family problem. I can tell you this is a naive behavior that sould not be done by a secondary school student.

No one can help you to solve the problem. As you grow up,you should find out the solution by yourself. You should handle this case well yourself.

Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by Janice

Dear Cindy,

I have read your letter and I know your diffculties that you facing now.

I think it is too young for a 13 years old teenage to fall in love.Do you think it is the time to have a boyfriend?However,I think it’s not the time for you to have a boyfriend.

Firstly,it will affect the study.You notice that your study is being affected,didn’t you?You only a secondary student.The most important thing you should do is study.

Secondly,you found that your family relationship is also affected.Do you want this relationship continuously going worse?Your mother only afraid you can’t concentrate in class.Don’t be angry with your mother.

Finally,although your boyfriend love you and take care of you very much,he only affects your relationship between you and your family,affects your study and so on.There are plenty of disadvantages and only few advantages.Please think about your future.Don’t just think of the happiness with your boyfriend.You are clever enough to think about it!

Yours sincerely,
Agrony Aunt

Comment by Jenny: )

Dear Cindy,

I have read your letter. I feel upset for your situation. I can give you some advices. I hope I can help you.

Firstly, I don’t agree that secondary two student can dating because this time is more suitable for study. Do you know dating will affect your school life? I think you know already.

Secondly, you are a secondary student,you should put your attention at your study, it is good for you for the futur.Moreover, you almost at the bottom of your class,you should be more hard working in you lessons and do more exercise.
Lastly,I hope you can solve you vexation. If you got the plan, just carry it out! But if you still feel vexatious, you can continue to write me a letter.

Yours sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by natalie

Dear Cindy

I have read your letter already.You are in a terrible situation.You are facing these problems.
Firstly,your parents don’t like you in love.
Secondly, your study is affected.Thirdly,
your classmates make rude jokes about you and your boyfriend.Lastly,some of your teachers think that you are not a good student.

To solve these problems,my suggestions are:Firstly,the reason that your parents don’t like you in love is they think your age is still to small for loving and your study may be affected.You have to talk to them and promise that you can blance youself well.Secondly, you have to try to balance your self between study and love.Thirdly,you have to tell your classmate that you feel unhappy about their rude jokes.Lastly,you have to study more hard with your boyfriend such as revise together to improve both your test result to show that your study is not affected that you can pay more time for study and you can have a good balance between love and study.

I think if you follow my suggestions,you can feel better and study happy in school and have good result too.

Your sincerely,
Agony Aunt

Comment by leo




Leave a Reply

