Edutainment – Bouteiller’s English Teaching in Hong Kong


11. If I were given one million dollars, I would …
May 30, 2008, 4:42 pm
Filed under: S.2CD 2007-08, S2 Speaking Exam Formal Speech Topics

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

If I were given one million dollars, I would…
Before I start my speech, I want to ask you questions. WHO GIVE YOU POCKET MONEY? WHO SUPPLY YOU TO STUDY? Of course, the answer is your parents. From investigation, 4 millions dollars are needed to grow a child up. Your parents give alots to you but are you filial? One day, if you were given one million dollars, what would you do? May be some of you will buy something that they want. How many of you would like to give the money back to your parents? For me, I would like to give all the money to my paents. I was grew up in a one-parent family. My mother gives me a lot of love and care but I just shut back to her. Somethime I feel shamed. She has a lot of hope on me but I always make her feel disappointed. I sure I am not filial to her. So that I want give back the money and say thank you to her.
At last I want you to think about how can you do for you parents. Although they always punish you, they only want you be better. Don’t get them wrong! I hope you are filial to your parents.

Comment by YU

Good morning teachers and fellow classmates,
Do you have the habit of savings? When you have already saved lots of money, what will you use it for? Would you want to buy some things you are looking forward to? Or eat some things you like? And if you were given one million dollars, what would you do? Today, my topic is “if I were given one million dollars, I would…”

All of you should know what had happened on the 12 may 2008. At that day, there was a 7.9-magnitude quake. This powerful earthquake toppled schools, buildings and chemical plants and killing nearly 68,000 people. The death index really makes people devastated. Many people became homeless. They are in lack for water, food, daily commodities and medicine. If I were given one million dollars, I would donate five hundred dollars to the Hong Kong Red Cross. I hope this money can relief them from adverse circumstances.

There is a Chinese phrase未雨綢繆. The meaning of this Chinese phrase is – we need to repair the house before it rains. That means we need to take precautions before it is too late. For the other five hundred dollars, I would like to save it for my studying abroad so that, my parents need not to save extra money for my studying abroad.

And if I have money left, I would like to have a trip to Australia. I really want to go to the Blue Hill and the Great Ocean Road. Although people say there are lots of flies, I still want to go.

That’s all for my speech. Thank you.

Comment by Serena

Good morning!

Have you ever seen the television game show called “Who Wants to Be a Millionaire?” ? It is a television game show which offers very large cash prizes. The maximum cash prize is one million. If you can get the price, you will become a millionaire just in one night! Yes, today, I am going to talk about “if I were given one million dollars, I would…”

After you get this one million dollars, most of you may think about how to use this large amount of money. Buy whatever you want? Have a luxurious trip? Or just keep it in your bank? To me, Firstly, I would like to donate 50 thousand dollars to those injured people in the earthquake. They need a lot of money for food and buildings. All people pay close attention to the earthquake. So, As a Chinese, I should donate money to help them although it may not help so much.

Secondly, I would like to give 500 thousand to my parents. They bring me up and take good care of me. I know that they don’t really want the money. But as the children of my parents, is my turn to take care of them. Also, I would like to use my own money for study. I know that study in univercity will spent a lot of money. I use my own money then my parents no need to spent so many money on me.

But I must tell you the truth. The truth is that we can’t get something for nothing. In this world, nothing is unearned! We may not lucky as the winner in the game show. If we just day dreaming and stay here to wanting for the one million, you will never become a millionaire. So keep study hard, you will be success one day!

That’s all for my speech. Thank you for your listening.

Comment by Cathy-)

Corrected

Good morning teachers and fellow classmates,
Do you have the habit of savings? When you have already saved lots of money, what will you use it for? Would you want to buy some things you are looking forward to? Or eat some things you like? And if you were given one million dollars, what would you do? Today, my topic is “if I were given one million dollars, I would…”

All of you should know what had happened on the 12 may 2008. At that day, there was a 7.9-magnitude quake. This powerful earthquake toppled schools, buildings and chemical plants and killing nearly 68,000 people. The death index really makes people devastated. Many people became homeless. They are in lack for water, food, daily commodities and medicine. If I were given one million dollars, I would donate five hundred thousand dollars to the Hong Kong Red Cross. I hope this money can relief them from adverse circumstances.

There is a Chinese phrase未雨綢繆. The meaning of this Chinese phrase is – we need to repair the house before it rains. That means we need to take precautions before it is too late. For the other five hundred thousand dollars, I would like to save it for my studying abroad so that, my parents need not to save extra money for my studying abroad.

And if I have money left, I would like to have a trip to Australia. I really want to go to the Blue Hill and the Great Ocean Road. Although people say there are lots of flies, I still want to go.

That’s all for my speech. Thank you.

Comment by Serena

If I were given one million dollars, I would…
Good morning teachers and classmates . If one day you were given one million dollars, what would you do?
Buy a bigger flat?Save them up?Or buy a ferrari for yourself?If I were given one million dollars, I will donate
most part of it to the Red Cross to help our dear compatriots in SiChuan, and the remaining part for my family.
I know that if I donate money to help the victims of earthquake in SiChuan, it won’t have a big influence on helping the victims.
But I believe in one thing,if every people donate money, it will become a large amount which can help a lot. Also I am clear that the thing
they really need is not money.Food ,clean water and tents are the most important things they need. Medical treatments are also very
important for saving our compatriots in SiChuan .So that’s why I am going to donate money to Red Cross.
Maybe you will be curious about why i left a small amount for my family. It is because my father and mother have given up
many things for growing me up.Time, money and love.So i would like to use the remaining part of the money improve our living environment
for my father and mother to enjoy. This is the end of my speech.Thank you!

Comment by Leo

If I were given one million dollars, I would…
Good morning teacher and fellow classmates.If you wre given one million dollars. how will you spend it ?Buy the newest computer ?Buy the things you want ?Or, spend it with friends?
In this one million . I would like to use 40 for givinmy parent’s . For them to buy new things. Like my mother may buy brand new clothes or handbags;My father may buy the newest version of laptop.10% I will spend it for Shichun,there have 7.8 level earthquake. Over 70thousand people injured.They need our help for these.
10%Iwill spend it with my friends for going out to play , buy the things we need.10% will give it to my brother for buying things with his own friend and buy his own things like toys and stationary.10% for imergency uses.10% for buying birthday present to my friends.The rest of them , I will keep it when I need it .That’s all my presentation,thank you for your attention .

Comment by Jenifa




Leave a Reply

