Edutainment – Bouteiller’s English Teaching in Hong Kong


Miami Travel Guide
May 21, 2008, 9:20 am
Filed under: Elect 2 - Environment, Grammar Fun, S.1A 2007-08, S.2CD 2007-08

Would you like to travel to Miami?

For S1 students, your free writing should include:

1. Before you watch the video, how much do you know about the city? Where is it? What is it famous for? Have you ever been there?

2. What does it show in the video? Any tourist spots highlighted? What is/are the city known for?

3. After watching the video, what do you think and feel about the city? Would you like to visit there? Why? If so, how would you plan your trip? with whom? When?

4. What is the life like in that city compared to Hong Kong? Which one do you prefer? Why?

5. Can you find out more information about the city apart from the video? What is it? Any interesting things to share?

Remember,

1. the number of word required is at least 150.

2. Proofread before you submit. Microsoft word can help you.


25 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Miami is a global city in southeastern Florida, in the United States. Miami is the county seat of Miami-Dade County, the most populous county in Florida. With a population of over 404,048, Miami is the largest city within the Miami metropolitan area, which is the fourth-largest urban area in the United States with over 5.59 million residents.
First it shows that the sea in Miami. That is so beautiful! It looks like Hong Kong .Although there is larger than Hong Kong. Second, it shows many tall building in Miami. Building under construction that will be over 493 feet. Miami has a tropical climate, with hot, humid summers and warm, dry winters. The video shows that there are many water activities. Such like diving, Skurfing, Yachting. People can work, live and play, enjoying a high quality of life.
I have never been there before, but I want to go there with my friend. Because there are very beautiful and we can play many different water games at there.

Comment by katrina

Before I watch this video I don’t know any things about Miami.Miami is the major city in southest Florida,It famous for port,their port often called the cruise capital of the world.The vedio show the port of Miami ,Skyline ,tropical climate and the future of Miami.
After watching this vidoe , I know more about Miami ,and I think that must be a beatiful city,but I won’t go to visit it,because I am young,and I haven’t any money to have a trip.
Compared to Hong Kong , ofcouse Miami is better than Hong Kong ,because the air pollution is very serius ,but Miami has beautiful sky and big Part,any way Hong Kong is my home , I like Hong Kong than Miami.

Comment by KT

Miami is one of the cities of the United States of America,a beautiful city located in southeast Florida but I have never been there before…This video first shown the bird’s eyes view figure and the aerial photo of Miami,it looks exactly a big different to Hong Kong!The pollutions is less than Hong Kong clearly.The coast is very long and the water is much clean and limpidity than Hong Kong.If I will go to travel,I would choose Miami because it is absolutely a beautiful、no pollutions city!The building density is not very high as Hong Kong so it made Miami looks more attract.The buildings are very new and colourful.The weather is nice like Hawaii.In Hong Kong,the life cadence is too high so many people will have pressure{s}!including student.But in Miami,the citizens are very cozy.This kind of beautiful city like Dubai or Miami are not abundant in the world anymore so we should learn how to protect our home–the earth.

Comment by Danny

Before I watch this video, I only know Miami is a city in Florida, the United States. I didn’t know what is famous there and I have never been to there.
It show some beach, shops near the beach and tourists. Tourists are walking on the street and shopping. I also saw a place, maybe it is the tourists spots, Golden Beach. The tourists are playing some actives. Such as water skiing and wind surfing.
After I watched this video, I think this city is really nice. The weather is good and there are no cold. Almost always sun shining. I would like to visit this city. Because I love to travel some city that have good weather and also have many outdoor actives to play. I think I would go to there on the summer holiday with my family.
Compared to Hong Kong I prefer Miami more because the people there are not so busy. That make me feel comfortable. I also know the ships are the largest cruise.

Comment by Emily^^

1.Before I watch the video,I only knew that Miami is Located at the American
Florida southeast Bisikan bay and also it is a very beautiful city.In there, there have many museum,such as Miami Art Museum, Miami Seaquarium, Museum of Contemporary Art, Vizcaya Museum & Gardens and Vizcaya-Miami Art Museum.But I have never been to there.

2.This video first shown the whole view and the sea view of Miami.it looks very beautiful!The video show that Miami has one of the largest and most infuluential ports in the United States.

3.After i read this video,i felt is really beautiful and didn’t any pollutions.If i have chance i wil go there,i really want to go the beach in there!

4.If Miami compared with Hong Kong,i think Miami is much better than Hong Kong,because there are no pollutions,the air and water better than Honk Kong too.

5. Miami becomes the American biggest cocaine transit port, these cocaine from Colombia, Bolivia and Peru. Miami’s geographical position has again played an important role: Here is to the source area recent US harbor, therefore has become the trafficker most ideal destination.

Comment by Tommy

Miami is one of the cities of the United States of America.This city is very beautiful.But I have never been there before.
The video show a big and beautiful beach, shops near the beach and tourists..The tourists are walking,eating food or shopping happily.There is a beach, Golden Beach.Tourists can do a lot of thing there such as,swimming,playing beach volleryball, water skiing and wind surfing.
Afher,I think I have already loved Miami.It is very nice.It has a great weather. Almost always sun shining.Also,I think the food in Miami are very yummy.
I would like to visit this city with my familyin summer holiday because I can swim in the sea.My fanily can shopping or doing sports.
Compared to Hong Kong I prefer Miami more because I think the life in there is very free.People no need to work all the time. That make me feel comfortable. Also,I know the ships are the largest cruise.

Comment by Ricky Lam

Before I watch the video, I only know that Miami on the southern of U.S. from a fiction book.
Miami is one of the largest and most influential ports .It often called the cruise capital of the world. It is the No.1 cruise passenger port in the world
.
After I watch the video , I think this city is very good, the air is very clear, we can see the white cloud and the blue sky and we can play a lot of activities like: wind-surfing ,travel on the sea .But I would not like to visit there because I will have a burn easily .
If I couldn’t get a burn easily, I prefer to live in Miami .Because there is bigger than Hong Kong so I can visit many places and the price of Hong Kong’s flat is more expensive than Miami. And Hong Kong’s life rhythm is too quick to me. I always feel tired although I am F.1 only.

Comment by KAREN

I travelled to Singapore with my family in the last week.
We travelled there by plane from HK international airport.
It was my first time to visit Singapore.
So I felt excited before I went to Singapore.
When we arrived to Singapore , my father was called to the Fragrance Hotel by using his mobile phone.
He ordered the Fragrance Hotel to book the rooms that let we had a rest there.

Next day,family and I visited to Singapore Zoological Garden.
This was a popular zoo that famous in Singapore.
Many of the traveller will went to Singapore Zoological Garden when they came to Singapore
So,it also was a famous scenic spot.

In the zoo,I saw a pair of white tiger that they were rare animals in the world.
The zoo adopts “open type” concept.
In addition to the American leopards, other animals just establishes a trench in the park.
So,visitor can feel easy in mind for appreciation and the animals are also free comfortable at will activity in the park.
There were many kinds of animal in this zoo,such as lions,dolphins,panda,giraffes,etc.
After I visited to Singapore Zoological Garden,I thought this zoo was interesting.
I will go to this place again if I have a chance to come to Singapore.

Comment by ♥kw0kj0ey `

Before I watch this video, I only know the Chinese name of Miami. But now, I know that it is a major city in southeast Florida. It is famous for the port. Also, I have not been there yet.
In the video, it shows the details of Miami. For example, the location, tropic climates and the average temperatures. Also, the second video shows the streets, some pedestrians and shops. There are variety water activities in Miami, such as diving and water motor car. This city known for the port and the ships.
After watching these two videos, I think that Miami is a prosperity city, people can live there plenum because they can work, they can play, they can enjoy their life. Although there is almost hot weather, there is still such a lot of fun. I think it must be a city which is full of happiness. Therefore, if I have chance, I would visit there with my family on August (in summer).
Compare to Hong Kong, it seems that Miami is better than Hong Kong. It is because whatever the weather and also the lifestyle are great. First, from the videos, it shows that the sky of Miami is blue and with white clouds. Therefore, I think the pollution is less than Hong Kong. Also, the lifestyle seems that it is very relaxing in Miami. If I can choose, I prefer Miami because of the comfortable lifestyle and the nice weather.
Here is some information about the city apart from the videos.
There are lots of special days in Miami. Such as Robert E Lee’s Birthday, Confederate Memorial Day, Memorial Day and Columbus Day, etc. Miami Carnival is the biggest party in the whole year which holds on 1st to 9th September each year. There will elect the Miss Carnival. Also, there will hold a music show, ice- skating, jazz and cooking competition. It seems that a variety show in other countries.

Comment by Suki Chui

Miami is a coastal rural city in United States, Florida. It is famous for marine transport, cruise passenger port and beaches. I have heard its name before but I didn’t know it is near the sea, sure, I have never been to there before.
In the videos, I can see there are crowded of people eating, drinking, laughing and cars parked by the way to the South Beach, it shows many people like to go to the beach may be for playing sea sports and Miami is known for its coast. This city makes me feel comfortable and free because the blue sky and sea though there are many buildings, so it attracts me to visit there in the summer with my mum, she likes the beautiful views everywhere.
Actually, the lives in Hong Kong is busier than Miami, Hong Kong people’s lives always scared the tourist from other countries. But I prefer Hong Kong because the good transport system and convenient shopping. In this case Hong Kong is better.
Last year, I watched programs on the Animal Planet talk about Miami-Dade Police Department Animal Services Unit. They used the laws to protect the animals and pets punish the bay guys who treat them not very well. I think it is good to have this department in Miami. May be this program is showing till now! Everyone go and check it! It is on the Animal Planet!

Comment by Johnny

Before I watch this video, I don’t know much more information about Miami. I just know that Miami is a place located far away from Hong Kong. Miami is a city in Florida. It shows a harbor in Miami and there are a lot of big ships. It also shows some tall buildings in Miami. Building under construction that will be over 493 feet! I also see some people diving in the sea and there are some people playing on the beach.
After watching this video, I think that Miami has a good season. And make me feel very comfortable of the beautiful view. I want to go there because I like the beautiful sea with a lot of people. Also, I want to dive in the sea. I would go there with my whole family at summer.
I would like their more than Hong Kong. Because there is more free. And Hong Kong is a busy place. I like Miami because there make me feel very comfortable!
The City of Miami known as the “Magic City” is located in Southeast Florida, in Miami-Dade County on the Miami River, between the Florida Everglades and the Atlantic Ocean. Since its incorporation in 1896, the City has grown tremendously, transforming it into one of the world’s renowned centers where people can work, live and play while enjoying a high quality of life.

Comment by Jenny Cheung

I just know Miami nothing before I watch this video. I have never been there before. Moreover, I don’t know everything about city and I have never hear this city name. After watch this video, I know more about Miami. Miami is a major and global city in southeastern Florida in United States. It is tantamount 5000 Hong Kong. There is a Port retained its status as number one cruise passenger port in the world. That is the largest cruise port. That is so beautiful and bright. I have a dream, that is travel on the cruise ship and enjoy the trip. I believe that it will be very comfortable but I know this is just a dream.
Miami is going to build a massive building which under construction will be over 492 feet. That will be rank second worldwide which follow United States. Besides, Miami’s skyline rank third which follow New York City and Chicago. Miami also has a tropical climate. That is very hot and the temperature never under 64.4 degrees Fahrenheit. That is a good weather and good place to swimming. If I have this opportunity to visit there, I will be extremely happy and I will visit there in summer holiday. It is because there is so beautiful and I can enjoy the high quality of life. I can also play so many water games there and I will not feel cold. I want to see the massive building which rank number two in the world. I will visit there with my best friends and my family. I feel live there is much better than Hong Kong because Hong Kong has a very high population and building density and not much fresh air. I feel that will be much comfortable than Hong Kong.

Comment by Roger Ho

This is a really good video introducing Miami very well.After watching this, I know some of this city.Such as : it is the major city in Southeast Florida. it covers over 55 square miles. Miami and surrounding cities make up the fifth largest urban area in American. Miami also home to one of the largest and most influential Port in the u.s……bla bla bla..although i don’t really know what they mean if i don’t look up in the dictionary, it seems that Miami is really a attrative city.Long time ago, my parents have been there for their honey moon trip. They told me there was really a fantastic city. I think if i live in there will be great! Base on those information that given, i found that Miami has a busy transport and maby people have a beautiful cars. There also shown lots of skyscrapers. It maybe a busy banking system as Hong Kong but one thing i’m quite is, there are bigger then Hong Kong for many times.I think i would like to try to live in a high quality life and walk with fresh air. Compare to Hong Kong, although there also a lot of skyscrapers, the density of the buildings are too high. They built too close. When i went to Central, i felt a bit pressure and uncomfortable in such crowd area. So i think that Miami will be a comfortable place, than Hong Kong. If i can go there, i think i will enjoy my trip very much.

Comment by GLORIA'

Before I watch this viedo,I do not know anything about Miami.
Miami is located on Florida southeast Bisikan bay.Miami is famous for the port.But i ahve never been there.
The viedo shows the many things of Miami.Such as the location of Miami, tropic climates, the weathter of each season.Also the viedo shows some of the places.For excample,beach,shops near to the beach.Miami is quiet famous,so a lot of tourists go there for their trip.
After i watch these viedos,I think Miami is a good place for recreation trip.It is a beautiful place also.
If Miami compare with hong Kong,I think Miami is better than Hong Kong.Because Miami is less pollution than HK,also Hong Kong is so small,not enough entertaiment facticies.So i like Miami more than HK.
Miami is transforming into one of the world’s renowned centers where people can work a high quality of life.Miami has a tropical climate,with hot,humid summers and warm dry winter.So people in Miami can go swimming every season.

Comment by Jenny Chan

Before I watch this video, I don’t know any thing about Miami. I only know it is a city in US. After I watch the video, I know that Miami is a major city in southeast Florida. The city covers over 55 square miles. The port of Miami often called the cruise capital of the world. The building of Miami will be over 492 feet’s. Miami skyline currently ranks third in the United States behind New York City and Chicago. I think I will love this city because it is a very big city compare with Hong Kong. I want to go there but I won’t go because this plane ticket is too expensive and if I go there I will use my mother a lot of money on shopping. When I grow up I will go there with my family in summer and enjoy the high quality of life. If I use this place to compare with Hong Kong, I prefer Miami because the city is bigger than Hong Kong and the feel is different also. I think Miami is much free than HK because Hong Kong also works very hard and never take rest.
When I find the information from the Internet about Miami, I knew that there is Grapeland Water Park in there. The facility includes water playground equipment for children 5 and older, a pool for children under 5 years, a 600-foot meandering pool and a resort type pool for adults with a beach entry. Admission prices are free for those 3 and under, $5 for ages 4 thru 13, $7 for city residents 14 and older, and $10 for non-city residents 14 and older. If I can go Miami, I must go this water park.

Comment by Christie =]

Miami is a perfect city. Do you agree?

1.Before I watch the video, I know nothing about this city because I haven’t visit there. But I know Miami is located on Florida and it is far from Hong Kong. I thought Miami is famous for museum. Am I right?

2.I think it shows the sea when driving the car. The sea view is very beautiful here!

3.I thought it is a very beautiful city! Blue sky, lots of trees and wonderful sea view! I want to visit there to take photos! I want to go there in holiday and I want to go to some beautiful places.

4.Hong Kong is very busy, but I think Miami is very relax. I would like to live in Miami more. It is perfect!

5.Miami is the American biggest cocaine transitport. Miami has a nice weather, we can go to swim everytime! It is a comfortable and relax city. There are fresh air everywhere. I like it!

Comment by Mandy

Before I watch this video, I know that Miami is one of the cities in America.And I have watched the film that is called ‘CSI (Miami)’.And all thing that I know about Miami are came from this film.
It shows some shop, beaches and a building model,that is the one that would be rank second worldwide.
And I really want to go there with myy family .The time that we will go to there is about the summer holiday.
I think Miami is very look like Hong Kong .Because on the street there are many vehicles and pedestrians which is same as Hong Kong.
I really very like this place.

Comment by Anna

Before I watch this video, I don’t know anything about Miami and I haven’ been there before.
I think it is a lovely place, the sea was beautiful and there are many yacht on it. I think the city is known for this.
After watching the video, I think Miami is a good place. I would like to visit there in the summer hoilday because I can play the water sports and see the night view in Miami.
Hong Kong is a busy place and the air is not clear enough. I would like Miami more than Hong Kong because there are a lot of tree and the building in Miami is short. We can see the blue sky easily.
Miami had called “God’s hospital waiting room”, many old people pass their final time in Miami. But nowadays, Miami is not only for the old people, sometimes installs the designer, the swim suit model and the Cuban immigrant go there. Miami is the crime scene document rate highest city, but attracted the tourist which more than ten million comes here to go sightseeing.

Comment by Wing=]

Before I watch this video, I know that Miami is one of the cities in America.And I have watched the film that is called ‘CSI (Miami)’.And all thing that I know about Miami are came from this film.
It shows some shop, beaches and a building model,that is the one that would be rank second worldwide.That is very hot and the temperature never under 64.4 degrees Fahrenheit. That is a good weather and good place to swimming. If I have this opportunity to visit there, I will be extremely happy and I will visit there in summer holiday.

And I really want to go there with myy family .The time that we will go to there is about the summer holiday.

IIf Miami compare with hong Kong,I think Miami is better than Hong Kong. think Miami is very look like Hong Kong .Because on the street there are many vehicles and pedestrians which is same as Hong Kong.

I really very like this place.

Comment by Anna

After proofread:

Miami is one of the cities in the United States.This city is very beautiful. But I have never been there before.
The video shows a big and beautiful beach, some shops near the beach and some tourists. The tourists are walking,eating food or shopping happily. There is a beach called Golden Beach. Tourists can do a lot of thing there such as,swimming, playing beach volleyball, water skiing and wind surfing.
After I thought, I have already loved Miami. It is very nice. It has a great weather. The sun almost shining every day. Also, I think the food in Miami are very yummy.
I would like to visit this city with my family in this summer holiday because I can swim in the sea. My family can go shopping or having sports game.
Compared with Hong Kong, I prefer Miami more because I think the life in there is very free. People no need to go to work all the time. That make me feel comfortable. Also, I know that the ships are the largest cruise.

Comment by Ricky Lam

After proofread~
Before I watch this viedo,I do not know anything about Miami.
Miami is located on Florida southeast Bisikan bay.Miami is famous for the port.But i ahve never been there.
The viedo shows the many things of Miami.Such as the location of Miami, tropic climates, the weathter of each season.Also the viedo shows some of the places in Miami.For excample,beach,shops near to the beach.Miami is quiet famous,so a lot of tourists go there for their trip.
After i watch these viedos,I think Miami is a good place for recreation trip.It is a beautiful place also.
If Miami compare with Hong Kong,I think Miami is better than Hong Kong.Because Miami has less pollution than HK,also Hong Kong is so small,not enough entertaiment facticies.So i like Miami more than HK.
Miami is transforming into one of the world’s renowned centers where people can work a high quality of life.Miami has a tropical climate,with hot,humid summers and warm dry winter.So people in Miami can go swimming every season.

Comment by Jenny Chan

After proof read .
Before I watch the video, I only know that Miami on the southern of U.S. from a fiction book.
Miami is one of the largest and the most influential ports .It often called the cruise capital of the world. It is the No.1 cruise passenger port in the world now
.
After I watch the video , I think this city is very good, the air is very clear, we can see the white cloud and the blue sky clearly and we can play a lot of activities like: wind-surfing ,travel on the sea etc..But I would not like to visit there because I will have a burn easily .
If I couldn’t get a burn easily, I prefer to live in Miami .Because there is bigger than Hong Kong very much so I can visit many places and the price of Hong Kong’s flat is more expensive than Miami. And Hong Kong’s life rhythm is too quick to me. I always feel tired although I am F.1 only.

Comment by KAREN

After proof read
Before I watch this video, I don’t know anything about Miami and I haven’ been there before.
I think it is a lovely place, the sea was beautiful and there are many yacht on it. I think the city is known for this.
After watching the video, I think Miami is a good place. I would like to visit there in the summer holiday because I can play the water sports and see the night view in Miami.
Hong Kong is a busy place and the air is not clear enough. I would like Miami more than Hong Kong because there are a lot of trees and the building in Miami is short. We can see the blue sky easily.
Miami had called “God’s hospital waiting room”, many old people pass their final time in Miami. But nowadays, Miami is not only for the old people, sometimes installs the designer, the swim suit model and the Cuban immigrant go there. Miami is the crime scene document rate highest city, but attracted the tourist which more than ten million comes here to go sightseeing.

Comment by Wing=]

After Proofread~

Before I watch this video, I know that Miami is one of the cities in America.I have never goto Miami.I have watched the film that is called ‘CSI (Miami)’The film that have include somethings special in there.All ideas that I know about Miami are came from this film.

The video shows some shop, beaches .The weather is very hot and the temperature never under 64.4 degrees Fahrenheit. That is a good weather and good place to swimming. If I have this opportunity to visit there, I will be extremely happy and I will visit there in summer holiday.

And I really want to go there with my family .The time that we will go to there is about the summer holiday.In summer holiday we can be more freeto play and visit Miami,because we will have a quite long holiday.

Miami compare with hong Kong,I think Miami is better than Hong Kong.But I also think that Miami is very look like Hong Kong .Because on the streets there are many vehicles and pedestrians which is same as Hong Kong and the streets are quite crowded.

If I have chance to go to Miami, I will be very happy.Because I like Miami.

Comment by Anna

Before I watch this video, I only know the Chinese name of the Miami. After I watch this video, I know that Miami is one of the cities of the United States of America. It located in southeast Florida It is very beautiful but i haven’t been there. I want to go there very much. This video first shown the bird’s eyes view figure and the aerial photo of Miami. After I watch this video, I knew more about Miami. This city is larger than Hong Kong. I want to visit this city a lot. My aunts are living there, I can visit them and travel there. I hope I can visit my aunts with my family this summer holiday. Compare with Hong Kong, I prefer living in Miami Because it is larger than Hong Kong and it looks like Hong Kong. There are a lot of vehicles and pedestrians and the streets are also crowded.

Comment by `MIcHaEl〥〃




Leave a Reply

