Edutainment – Bouteiller’s English Teaching in Hong Kong


Flying away to Singapore!
May 21, 2008, 9:05 am
Filed under: Elect 2 - Environment, Grammar Fun, S.1A 2007-08, S.2CD 2007-08

After doing your listening exercises, why don’t we check it out!

For S1 students, your free writing should include:

1. Before you watch the video, how much do you know about the city? Where is it? What is it famous for? Have you ever been there?

2. What does it show in the video? Any tourist spots highlighted? What is/are the city known for?

3. After watching the video, what do you think and feel about the city? Would you like to visit there? Why? If so, how would you plan your trip? with whom? When?

4. What is the life like in that city compared to Hong Kong? Which one do you prefer? Why?

5. Can you find out more information about the city apart from the video? What is it? Any interesting things to share?

Remember,

1. the number of word required is at least 150.

2. Proofread before you submit. Microsoft word can help you.


12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Before I watch this video, I don’t know anything about Singapore. I even don’t know where Singapore is. In the video, it shows the view of Singapore and the tourists in Singapore. It shows that the view in Singapore at night is very beautiful. The tourists are all very enjoying their trip in Singapore. They visit the places, Chinatown Plaza and try the food in Singapore. They all say well. After watching this video, I know more about Singapore. Also, I would like to visit it with my parents or friends. I think we will enjoy it very much. Other then that, I find there is something different from Hong Kong. It is the people. In Hong Kong, there are many cars and people everywhere at any time, but Singapore is different, the video shows that Singapore doesn’t have many people such as Hong Kong. I think if I live in Singapore, I will feel more quite than Hong Kong.

Comment by Christy Kong

I have been to Singapore since 2002. It is in the southeasten part of Asia. They usually speak in Putonghua or English. I remembered that there is a specific rule in Singapore. People must not eat chewing gum in their country. Singapore is famous for eating Hainanese Chicken Rice and Satay with rice. The views in Singapore at night are very beautiful. They attract many tourists to go there for looking. People are shown in the show are taking photos. They are eating some local food on the streets-stalls. Singapore is provided a good impression for me. I would like to go there again with my family in my summer holiday. Although it is very hot because of the weather, it can provide the best beach for swimming and a comfortable environment to me. However, I plan I go there only for one week, not such a long time.

I prefer Hong Kong, not Singapore. It is because Hong Kong’s weather is cooler than Singapore. I don’t want to adapt the new environment. The main point that I don’t want to move to Singapore is, I hate speaking in Putonghua very much.

Comment by ANGEL WONG

Before I watch this video, I know a little bit about Singapore. Because of the film called ”I am not stupid”.And I know singapore is near the Malaysia and it is a country in Asia.And I have search some informations about the famous places in Singapore.Here is the informations:Bugis Village in a famous night market with a lot of shops and stalls selling many things there.
The video shows a lot of beautiful pictures about the views is Singapore and the people had gone to the shops of some famous brands such as Levis and Baleno.The people had had also went to the Chinatown Plaza !
After I watch this video I like this place very much and would like to travel the city with my family in the summer holiday ,too!
I think the live in Singapore and Hong Kong have a little bit different.In Hong Kong the people work very fast and race aagainst time everyday, but the people in Sinagpore are not they have time to work and also relax.But I prefer to live in Hong Kong, because I have already accustomed to live in Hong Kong.

Comment by Kelly

I haven’t been to Singapore before, but I would like to. Because I want to travel the places I haven’t been to. And Singapore is one of I want to visit. If I can visit there, I will go there with my family in the summer holiday. Before I watch this video, I only know that Singapore is in Asia.After I watch the video, I search the information about Singapore. And now, I know that Singapore is in the southeast of Asia. And I heard from my father that, people can not eat chewing gum in Singapore. Singapore is famous for the Hainanese Chicken Rice. I like it too.
The video shows the streets at night. There are many shops. Some of them sell food. Nearly the end of the video shows some photos of a man took in Singapore.

I prefer to Hong Kong, because I don’t want to face a new circumstances and new people. I grow in Hong Kong. So I prefer Hong Kong more than Singapore.

Comment by yoyo

I travelled to Singapore with my family in the last week.
We travelled there by plane from HK international airport.
It was my first time to visit Singapore.
So I felt excited before I went to Singapore.
When we arrived to Singapore , my father was called to the Fragrance Hotel by using his mobile phone.
He ordered the Fragrance Hotel to book the rooms that let we had a rest there.

Next day,family and I visited to Singapore Zoological Garden.
This was a popular zoo that famous in Singapore.
Many of the traveller will went to Singapore Zoological Garden when they came to Singapore
So,it also was a famous scenic spot.

In the zoo,I saw a pair of white tiger that they were rare animals in the world.
The zoo adopts “open type” concept.
In addition to the American leopards, other animals just establishes a trench in the park.
So,visitor can feel easy in mind for appreciation and the animals are also free comfortable at will activity in the park.
There were many kinds of animal in this zoo,such as lions,dolphins,panda,giraffes,etc.
After I visited to Singapore Zoological Garden,I thought this zoo was interesting.
I will go to this place again if I have a chance to come to Singapore.

Comment by ♥kw0kj0ey `

1.I have never been to Singapore. But I would like to go there. I don’t know much about Singapore. I just know that Singapore is in the southeast of Asia. People in singapore speak in Putonghua or English.

2.By watching this video, it shows the journey in Singapore Raymond Hahn. It shows many photos of the streets and beautiful scenery. The sightseeing is really very beautiful. The tourists look like very enjoy the trip. I can see that they have been to Chinatown Plaza and they have tried many local food, such as Hainan chicken rice.

3.After watching this video, I think Singapore is a very beautiful place. I would like to go there with my family when I grow up. I saw many diet TV program before and they have introduced many delicious food. I really want to try them.

4.I prefer living in Hong Kong. I am scare to hear of the law of Singapore is very harsh. Therefore I prefer the life in Hong Kong more.

Comment by Angel Tsim

Before I watch the video, I don’t know anything about Singapore. But only one that I know, that is Singapore was located at Asia. Also, I haven’t been to there before.
In the video, I can see that the sun is very shin. Moreover,at night, Singapore will hang some illumination on or above the buildings. And the tourists had visit the Chinatown Plaza, also tried the local food.
After watching this video, I think Singapore’s food is very yummy. It was because I saw the tourists enjoyed the food very much. And there looked like had a lot of different kinds of food.
I think I would like to visit Singapore with my family in the summer holiday. It is because at night, there aren’t many vehicles on the roads. Therefore, I think when I sleep in Singapore, I will feel more quietly. Furthermore, because I never been to there before, so I want to travel there.
I feel Singapore is more waste the energy than Hong Kong. Because Singapore have a lot of buildings, but at night, they all light up their illumination. So that, I still prefer to live in Hong Kong. I think Hong Kong is more save the energy than there.

Comment by Alice

Before I watch the video, I know that Singapore is a small city, the people there speak in either English and Putonghua.It is located at the southern of the Malay Peninsula. What is it amous for? I don’t know that.. Maybe it is famous for the school there.I’ve been there for a trip when I was eight years old.
The video show a gang of people visting Singapore. Outdoor food court has been highlighted.I think Singapore is known for some local food.
After watching the video, I think the food in that city must be tasty!! I would like to visit there again! It is because I like the food there.I will try the food there with my mum and dad.I think I will go there in the Chinese New Year holiday, because I may have a good try of a hot Chinese New Year.
The life in Singapore must be very hot. In Hong Kong, the are Autum and Winter, but in Singapore there is no Winter, there was hot in the whole year.The people in Hong Kong was busy all the time, but the people in Singapore relax themselves sometimes. I prefer the life in Hong Kong, because I don’t like hot at all. I like the weather in Hong Kong.
Singapore has many different shopping mall. Beside, the view of some sea food food cournt is nice. Something interesting is the government set some intrutsion to keep the environment clean, such as the people in Singapore can not eat any gum.

Comment by Janice

Before I watch the video,I think Singapore is famous for food because I have many friend and they say that Singapore is a good place for eating!Then,I think that it must be a good place for eat.Also I kown that Singapore is a an island city-state and the smallest country in Southeast Asia.
After I watch the video,I can sure that Singapore is famous for food because I can see so many yummy food in the video!(I am dreaming the food now……)Also,I can see some art photo in the museum,so I think the city must be relate with food and art! I have never been there before so I hope that one day i can go there with my friends or any parents.I think Singapore’s lifestyle is comfortable in Hong Kong becasue Hong Kong people always look for money and everyone are very busy.I prefer Singapore ‘s lifestyle becasue I enjoy comfortable more than busy……

Comment by Jacky

1) I have never been to Singapore. But I know something about Singapore; it is very hot there. The average maximum and minimum daily temperature are 30.9 degree Celsius and 23.9 degree Celsius. In addition, it is in Asia and it is near Malaysia. It is famous for meat bone tea and the chicken rice in Hainan.
2) It shows the streets, buildings, food stalls shops and the plaza in Singapore. The people were eating the traditional local Singapore food and they took a lot of photos of special designed of buildings.
3) After watching the video, I think Singapore is a beautiful city. There are some traditional buildings and food stalls everywhere. I would like to go to Singapore on holiday with my family. I’d like to try the local food of Singapore.
4) I prefer living in Hong Kong to Singapore. It is because Hong Kong is an international financial center and it provides more job opportunity.
5) There are two name of Singapore in Chinese. It is because in putonghua the pronunciation of “new” and “star” is similar, so that people always pronounced wrongly in “star”.

Comment by Donna

Before I watch the movie, I don’t know anything about Singapore, also I have never been to there. But I have seen many videos, guidebook, also the TV programme abotu Singapore. Singapore is near to Malaysia. It is very hot everytime.It famous for banana tree.(Just I think)Singapore gives me a feeling, I think that Singapore is a very relax place, you can anything that you want.Therefore I want to live in there.
After I watch the movie, I saw many thing about Singapore, such as streets, plaza , short buildings etc. Then I felt very warm when I saw the photos about the editor and their friends and his/her family members.
After that, I want to travel there with my family members, because we have never gone there before, so that we want to go there, to see see the view’s of Singapore.
If I use Singapore to compare with Hong Kong, the difference between them is very big. Singapore’s people is very relax to do everything, they just want to enjoy, but Hong Kong’s people do everything very quick and fast, because they think time is very valauble, need to save them; Singapore always is very lifely, Hong KOng always is very busy,the streets always have many people walking around, they walk very quickly, they are very busy.The colousion of those two cities, is that Singapore is a very lively city, but Hong Kong is a very busy city. If I need to choose a place to live, I will choose Singapore. How about your choose?

Comment by Calla

Before I watch the video,I think Singapore is a place which is famous for food because I have many friend and they say that Singapore is a good place for eating!Then,I think that it must be a good place for eat.Also I kown that Singapore is a an island city-state and the smallest country in Southeast Asia.
After I watch the video,I can sure that Singapore is famous for food because I can see so many yummy food in the video!(I am dreaming the food now……)Also,I can see some art photo in the museum,so I think the city must be relate with food and art! I have never been there before so I hope that one day I can go there with my friends or any parents.I think Singapore’s lifestyle is more comfortable in Hong Kong becasue Hong Kong’s people always look for money and everyone are very busy.I prefer Singapore ’s lifestyle becasue I enjoy comfortable more than busy……

Comment by Jacky




Leave a Reply

