Edutainment – Bouteiller’s English Teaching in Hong Kong


Example of making good use of the information on the Internet VS Plagiarism
April 9, 2008, 8:50 pm
Filed under: Forum, S.1A 2007-08, S.2CD 2007-08, School Annoucement, Uncategorized

As we are now living in this information generation being bombarded with the ease of information accessiblity AND you are facing the New Senior Secondary Reform, it is extremley important for you to understand what PLAGIARISM is, to learn to avoid as well as to learn to ‘make good use’ of what we’ve got now to acquire worldwide knowledge and develop critical thinking.

Here are a plagiarist and a smart student who knows how to acquire her knowledge. Please compare:

Plagiarism                             Good Example of being a wise student in this generation

 The plagiarist has not shown any research part in his assignment or NO REFERENCE. He hasn’t mentioned where he quoted the material and tried to fool people certain part of his writing was written by him.

While the wise student did and showed her research to make it known where she cited the material. Then look into her writing. She only quoted the objective facts about the company’s mission statement and details of campaigns/event held and reflected her own opinions on the topic. This shows her own understanding of the materials quoted, analysed and DEVELOPED HER OWN POINT OF VIEW.

Please ask if you have any question. Make sure you understand as PLAGIARISM IS A CRIME against INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY RIGHT.

CM on the following:

1. Do you understand what plagiarism is?

2. What is/are your corresponding action(s) to be a WISE student in this generation?

(If you have ever plagiarised and want to take back your homework/composition for improvement and reference edition, please feel free to see you anytime.) 


79 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I understand that what plagiarism is.
I make my own idea. =]

Comment by Moon

I understand what it is.
I will not copy homework.

Comment by jenna

Yes .
When I search information, i will not absolutely copy from the internet, but i will “absorb” the imformation, and then write in my own words..

Comment by Arthur

Yes,I understand what plagiarism is.
I will make the idea myself.xD

Comment by Mon

Yes, i know what is plagiarism.
i will do my homework by my shelf and never copy other’s homework.

Comment by wesley

I have understand.
I will digest the information before i write a compositon or report, also write them by heart and after thinking.

Comment by Sherman

I understand .
I will copy from the internet and make my own notions.

Comment by Serena*

I understand .
I will not copy from the internet and make my own notions.

Comment by Serena*

The second one is the correct one.

Comment by Serena*

1. Do you understand what plagiarism is?
1.Yes,I understand what is plagiarism.
2.I will do the homework at home myself and won’t copy the others.Also,I won’t lend my homework to the others too.(Nobody will:])

Comment by KATRINA

I understand what is plagiarism.
I will not copy others,and i will make idea myself.

Comment by Jenny

Yes,I understand what plagiarism is.
I always do the homework myself and i will not copy the others’.

Comment by CCK

1. Yes, I understand (:
2. As a WISE student, i will comprehend the information that i’ve searched in the Internet and use my own words for the discription.

Comment by B0W!E:)

Yes I understand
I will not copy the information……expect
those words which are very satisfactory.
Except this, I always do homework myself
and make my own work:)

Comment by KEN

1/Yes, i understand what it is.
2/I think,when we are searching the information from the internet,the informations are made by others,we can’t copy it, we must perceive it, understand it then use our own knowledge to change it into some new things.It can let us test ourselves how much understanding that we’ve absorbed from the information assuredly.

Comment by Yvonne:)

1.Yes
2.I will not copy the answer and information,I will just read the answer or information and make my own notice for myself to syudy.

Comment by Denis Lai

Yes,Iknow plagiarism is like copy.
I will try to not copy hw

Comment by Ashley

yes, i understand what is it.
i want to be a wise student so i will do all my homework at home.

Comment by AdriAn

sure.=] plagiarism is a beviour that can be prosecuted by lawyers. in this generation, we should be creative and develop ideas that we have instead of produce some work that is simialar to others.

Comment by da!sy

1.Yes, I understand.
2.I will do homework by myself and do not copy from others, and also I will make my own ideas myself.Because copy from others cannot help me to learn more, I should understand the knowlegde myself.

Comment by Melody

1.)Yes ,I understand
2.)I will think ideas by myself, cope the others’
is a wrong thing. I will never do that in the fulture

Comment by Raphael

Yes,i understand.
I will use the information as a reference but not copy.

Comment by coco

Yes, I understand what is it about.
Copy others is not a students they should do.
Also,do the hw without understanding the meaning
is useless. I will do the homework myself everytime/
If I have problems, I will ask teachers or classmates instead of copy others!

Comment by Marco fish

1) yes, I know
2) If I don’t know how to solve the problems I will ask for help but not copy answers from the others!!!

Comment by Mary

Yes, I understand what plagiarism is. I won’t copy the information from the Internet. I will do my homework by myself and think of the new ideas. I think the information from the internet just give us a reference but not for us to copy. Do our homework ourselves is the best way for learning. =]

Comment by LISKA=]

Yes, I understand what plagiarism is. I won’t copy the information from the Internet. I will do my homework by myself and think of the new ideas. I think the information from the internet just give us a reference but not for us to copy. Do our homework ourselves is the best way for learning.

Comment by LISKA

I know what plagiarism is.It means copy the idea from the others…
I will be serious to every homework, because all of them are useful for me. I will also know more about the information that I search. So that I can analyze them and have my own idea!

Comment by bryan

understand.
i will be wise
do homework at home
no copy

Comment by yu

yes, i understand plagiarism.We can learn a lot of knowledge when we doing the homework. Copy homework is not good for us.

Comment by ph0ebe

1)Yes,I understand what plagiarism is.
2)I will do the homework by heart because copying help us learn nothing.As we in the age that too much information,we should learn how to have our own ideas and think independently.Not just blindly to follow other.Own thinking in this age is very important.

Comment by Michelle

I understand what you mean.
I will try my best to do the best. Just like what you said in the lesson today.Not to act the minimum. I try to understand what you mean in this article and give the corresponding answer. Thank you for you kind remind!

Comment by connie

Yes/..
i understand la…..
i always finish my hw on time and at home ar…
i will be more hard working

Comment by KIT

Yes, I understand it.
I promise I will not copy the homework and I will not do the homework in the school.

Comment by Andrew

yes, i know.
We should not copy the homeworks!
We need to be honest, do the homework by ourselves!

Comment by Harry

I understand what it mean!: >
I will do my best on all subjects.
Do my HOMEWORK by myself and learn the knowledge !

Comment by christy*V*

I understand what plagiarism is:P
i will do my homework by myself,
and work hard in every quiz or exam.
because english is my worse subject.

Comment by kik0:D

First of all I know what is plagiarism. Secondly, the difference of coping and searching information. The difference is copy is you have never think about the content but search is a process that you have think and find the best information. Therefore I am corresponding to search information in the Internet.

Comment by Jason

Plagiarism means copy cat.They can’t learn anythings.Sometime we are silly,copy the work from others.After reading this new ,I have understand learningis not copying.

Comment by Bonnie

I understand the plagiarism , I will put more effort on the homework and quizs.I learn I should how to get a good result , it is reading more books , to know different things happen around us , learn more vocab.

Comment by Ella

I understand.
I will not copy homework from other first.
I will do the revision for every quiz and
dictation=.=

Comment by jerryA_A

I understand the plagiarism.XD
I will do my the homework by myself.^^

Comment by Jessica

Yes,I know what is “plagiarism”. It is the act of stealing and using other’s ideas or words etc.
I won’t copy all the information on the Internet,I will just quote the useful information for my homework.I won’t plagiarism because I want to get more and more knowledge.^^

Comment by Jing

Yes,I understand. It means copy or steal things,works from the others.
I will analyzed the information on the Internet and quote it suitably.

Comment by Secret

yes,i understand the plagiarism.
i will have my own thinking in my learning.

Comment by natalie

Yes,I know what is “plagiarism”. It means steal or using other’s works or ideas etc.
I will analyze all the information on the Internet and I will quote the information suitably.

Comment by Secret

yes yes,i understand.
i will do it myself=]

Comment by ting@@

Yes,I understand what is plagiarism.
I’ll think the ideas by myself!
^v^

Comment by Candy

Yes,I understand what is plagiarism.
I’ll think the ideas by myself!
^v^

Comment by Candy

Yes,I understand.
Usually the informations in the internet is useful,we can learn many new vocabs from it.But we have to learn them and absorb them,keep them in our brian and use them in our compositions. Never just coppy them,this is silly and useless if we become a plagiarist.Plagiarists are just punishing themselves that they can’t gain any knowledge during having their compositions.
I will not become a plagiarist.

Comment by Leo

I understand about plagiarism.
Plagiarism is a selfish behavior, that means “steal others’ knowledge”, I think it is silly morality!
Do you think so?

Comment by Angel

1.I understand it.
2.I think we should not totally copy the information that is posted on the internet.We should add our words,opinion in it.

Comment by Karina;)

I understand what plagiarism is.

Getting ideas from different sources and people is what everyone would do. I think we should understand the core of thoughts before applying someone else’s ideas. Don’t just copy them.

Comment by Joel

I understand!!!
I WON”T copy form internet and make my own notions!!!!>?<

Comment by keith >,

Yes, I understand now.
I usually search information in the Internet and then use my own language to express my idea.

Comment by Grammy

yes i understand.
i won’t copy form internet
and will not make my own notions

Comment by Ted

Oh!! I understand it now!!!!
I will do my best in the comming lessons!!
I will do my homeworks with my heart!!

Comment by Danny

I understand the meaning of it.
Plagiarism is a serious action, this can affect our life if we keep on do this.

Comment by Amy

Yes, Iunderstand what plagiarism is.
I will not copy the information from the internet anymore. I will do all my homework seriously. I will think of new ideas myself. (:

Comment by Janice

Yes,I understand what it is now.
To be a rise student,
I may make good use of the Internet.
But I will write the sentences by myself.
I won’t just copy it.

Comment by Cathy

Yeah, ,I know it !~!~
To be a Wise student ?~~
When I receive the yellow paper =[]=”,
I am being a Wise student ready !~
I do my Homework myself now !~

Comment by Jenifa

yes,I understand what it is.
I will not copy the homework,I will do it
by myself.

Comment by karen

1)I understand what is plagiarism now.
2)Whenever I searched information on internet, I will only use it as a reference. After I have grasped the meaning of the information, I will apply them with my own expression

Comment by Vincy

Yes!!><I kown that word.
I will do my homework with my own ideas
and opions.

Comment by CatffanY

1.Yes,I have unterstood what plagiarism is before.

2.I will only search for the information of the homework I do.And try to unterstand it.

Comment by Eleanor

I understand about the plagiarism.
When i search the internet,i will copy and paste to my own work.But,i will check the meaning and point out the main ideas in it.

Comment by Persephone

Yes,i understand and i wont be a copycat.

Comment by shirley

Yes,Iknow plagiarism is like copy.
I will not copy hw anymore..
TrusT Me@@

Comment by WaTeR

I understand.
I won’t copy things from the others. I wii make my own ideas.

Comment by Erica

When i was searching infromation on the internet, i sometimes just copied it and write it on my homework. but from now on , i won’t do it again.

Comment by Stella

I’m glad that most of you understand what plagiarism is and the corresponding actions you should take.

However, just want to add in:
Plagiarism is not just homework copying, but also the IDEA STEALING, NO MATTER HOW YOU CHANGE THE WORDS.

I know you all can have a lot of creative ideas. 🙂

Comment by Nikki Bouteiller

Yes,I understand what plagiarism is.
I will be more hard working.

Comment by Kathy

i think that it is mean that copy something from other or somewhere that is crime to copy!
i think that a good student do not copy homework.

Comment by Tiffany

Yes!”Copy” is wrong and you should call police after copy someone.They will send you to jail.

Comment by marco

i will not copy anymore !!

Comment by alex

I understand.
I will not copy anymore.

Comment by TEBBY

I understand.
I never copy others~

Comment by Natalie

I understand.
I will not copy hw and finish it by myself.

Comment by TEBBY

Yes,I understand what is plagiarism.
I won’t copy homework anymore.
My corresponding actions to be wise,I must be a
wide reader.e.g I must always research about new
things by reading and searching.

Comment by Karen~hins

i know what is plagiarism.
i hope to be wiser!
i will finish hw by myself!

Comment by Fiona




Leave a Reply

