Edutainment – Bouteiller’s English Teaching in Hong Kong


The answer for chewing gum!
March 15, 2008, 8:55 pm
Filed under: Elect 1 - Fantastic Food, Uncategorized

It was fun to read your response here. Some of you answered in a hilarious way. I personally have never swallowed any chewing gum. When I heard some of you had this experience, I was trying to imagine how it is like. HTYC students are really smart. Everyone has got a sensible reply. 😉

What is it with seven years? You break a mirror, seven years of bad luck. Each dog year is seven human years. Seven years to digest swallowed gun? What if a dog broke a mirror then swallowed a pack of gum? Sounds like an algebra problem.

Chewing gum is not digestible but it definitely doesn’t sit in our stomach for years. Gum actually might help things move through the bowels faster. Sorbitol is sometimes used as a sweetener in gum and this can act as a laxative. What does this mean? Yes, if you look carefully, you should see it FLOATING next to all of those LOVELY YELLOW CORN KERNELS.

Then I’ve got another question for you. What do you think the LOVELY FLOATING YELLOW CORN KERNELS are? Why are they floating? ;-P

(reference from Mark Leyner and Billy Goldberg, M.D.)


34 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I think the LOVELY FLOATING YELLOW CORN KERNELS are excrement. Because there are gum in the LOVELY FLOATING YELLOW CORN KERNELS, so they floating.

Comment by Yoyo

I think the “lovely” floating yellow corn kernels are human’s excrement.(it’s really lovely = =”)

When a thing with lower density, it will float.The reason of they float is because their density are low, and even lower than water.Therefore, they can float.

Comment by Janice

I think the lovely floating yellow corn kernels are the normal things that excrete by humans.

They are floating because the gum is actually might help things move through the bowels faster.Maybe the gum removes many waste,then it got a space.Also,the gum is light that’s mean it can float on the water.Therefore, they can be float.

Comment by suki

I think the LOVELY FLOATING YELLOW CORN KERNELS are excrement.
And they can float because they are light?

Comment by Jenny Cheung

I think the”LOVELY YELLOW CORN KERNELS” are gums stick on human’s excrement.(Spewing= =” stink…)

I think the gums’s density are too low,even lower than liquid.So the gums will float.(kaka=])

Comment by Ricky Lam

1.It means that the sorbitol is a kind of medicine to solve the excrete problem.
2.I think it is the excrement of human becasue when the density of the excrement is low,they will be floating and it is very “lovely”!

Comment by Law Tsz Kit 1a20

I also think that the LOVELY YELLOW CORN KERNELS are some excrement^^.When we swallowed the chewing gum,it will help the body to absorb some bad and waste thing.Then,we go to the toilet……= =

(just guess)-___- I think the LOVELY YELLOW CORN KERNELS are floating is cause by the chewing gum.The chewing gum may have some special things inside it.

Comment by wing

I think the ‘LOVELY FLOATING YELLOW CORN KERNELS’
are excrement because the air in the ‘LOVELY FLOATING YELLOW CORN KERNELS’will make it floating.

Comment by Danny

I think the lovely floating yellow corn kernel is the very nice and fantastic feces of the human. It is because feces is very light and if put it in the water, it will floating on the surface.

Comment by Roger

I think the lovely floating yellow corn dernels are smelly excretement.They float because they are light.

Comment by Kelly

~lovely floating yellow corn kernels…
I’m sure Mr. Tong teaches you well in Science lesson about the states of matter and the theroy of density 😉 Who can donate some of his/hers for an experient in our lab. later? 😛 (I’m sure the lab. technicians would try their best to coordinate with any experiment for the educational purpose!) 😛

Comment by Nikki Bouteiller

I think the LOVELY FLOATING YELLOW CORN KERNELS are the excrement inside bowels.They are floating because the gum is made up of plastic of which weight is lighter than the “lovely” feces.

Comment by Donna

I think the LOVELY FLOATING YELLOW CORN KERNELS are the human’s excrement.
Why thet floating? Because in the excrement,ther have some air,so they floating.

Comment by Tommy 1a06

I also think the ”lovely floating yellow corn kernel” are excrement. I think maybe their density are low so they can floating.

Comment by Emily

Mrs Boutiller, do you mean that you want to do the experiment with 1A??
If yes, then I’m looking forward to it.

Comment by ChristyKong

I think the lovely floating yellow corn kernels should be the excrement that we excrete every day. They can float. It is because they are very light. The density is very low too.

Comment by ANGEL WONG

It think it is somthing excrement , and it is very light so floating

Comment by KT

I think the LOVELY FLOATING YELLOW CORN KERNELS are the excretmentby the human after chewing gum.

Why is it floating?
I think the LOVELY FLOATING YELLOW CORN KERNELS are floating because they are light.The density of them are lower than the water.

I want to ask why the FLOATING YELLOW CORN KERNELS are lovely?

Comment by xannac

I think the LOVELY FLOATING YELLOW CORN KERNELS are human excrement.
And they are floating because there is air in the crack of the LOVELY(?) FLOATING YELLOW CORN KERNELS.
…There will be the first “smelly experiment” in the lab.

Comment by Johnny

I think the’LOVELY’YELLOW CORN KERNELS are human’s excrement. And why the chewing gum will floating with these excrement?I think because the chewing gum was digest, so it will be a part of human’s excrement.

Comment by Alice

I think the LOVELY FLOATION TELLOW CORN KERNELS are the excreta of human. The excretas are very light so they float.

Comment by Angel Tsim

I think the LOVELY FLOATION TELLOW CORN KERNELS are the excreta of human. The excretas are very light so they float.

Comment by Angel Tsim

I think the “Lovely Floating Yellow Corn Kernels are excrement of human.
Yellow corn kernel are undigested food and the body has absorbed the minerals and that these nutrients are not contained in the waste. Then their weight will become light, so they can float.

Comment by christie^-^

maybe it is a kind of things that very light .
but i really don’t know what the’ CORN KERNELS’meaning .maybe it is a kind of food??

Comment by KAREN

I think that “Lovely Floating Yellow Corn Kernels” is excrement of human.
It is light enough to float up.

Comment by Calla

LOVELY FLOATING YELLOW CORN KERNELS are excrement. It may very light so floating.

Comment by Mandy

I guess it is feaces because it looks like the feaces=v=”Why can they float? Because when its density lower than the water, then they can float.

Comment by michael

I thing it is very interesting.Something can on the face.Yellow?So I thing it is sonething whick are dirty-_-“”

Comment by Taurus Wong

I think it is just something dirty or oil.

Comment by Chan Chi Tung

th3 dressesis very sharp th3 style very special.

Comment by ted

I think the THEY are the human’s excrement. They are light so they can float.

Comment by Angel

I think the ”LOVELY FLOATION TELLOW CORN KERNELS” are the excreta of human.

Comment by Harry

Your answers are all so LOVELY!! 😛

Comment by Nikki Bouteiller

I think the”LOVELY YELLOW CORN KERNELS” are gums stick on human’s excrementsince gums’s density is even lower than that of liquid.So the gums will float. Their minerals , maybe, was absorbed and the gum was left as the waste…
MAYBE!!!!!….WHO KNOWS?!!
( IT sooooo stinky><)

Comment by Connie




Leave a Reply

